1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

failed dvd burn with dvdshrink

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by flash43, Mar 3, 2007.

1. flash43

flash43 Member

I've been burning DVD's with DVD shrink for several months. Most of the time it works without a hitch. I watch the green bar and occasionally it has a red bar at the end of the green bar. This is rare and I know that means there's too much material for the blank disk. All I have to do is delete a few unnecessary things,the red bar disappears and it copies. Here's a new one I've never encountered. When it gets to the checking disk stage and I've inserted a blank disk, a window pops up which says, "not enough space to burn this compilation to this disc". I've made numerous attempts with other blank discs with the same result. If there wasn't enough space, why didn't the red show up at the end of the green bar? The original disk is 2 hrs. and 42 min. I've copied movies that were 3 hrs. long with no trouble. The disc is not encrypted. What's the problem?

2. dvdchick

dvdchick Regular member

hello yea i have had that happen to me, are you doing movie only??

3. S_Scanlan

S_Scanlan Member

this has happened to me a few times. I found the problem was actually not enough room on my hard drive. You need enough room for the ISO image. If you have a lot of things (pics, downloaded stuff, ect) on your hard drive that might be your problem. Try that out.. thats all I got

4. rdmercer1

rdmercer1 Active member

what you need to do is when the burn is done and when you see the message that shrink has finnished it will say the output kiles wer saved to such and such folder, you need to go to that folder and deleate the files to clear up disk space and after you do that make sure that you empty the Recycle Bin that way you will know that you will have enough space to do more backups

5. flash43

flash43 Member