1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Failed to play 79 unlock CD!

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by TonyJer, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi

    Decided I should update dash etc in readiness for copying and playing all the XGD3 games my son has now asked me to buy! Found old Hit 79 and thought it would be a sinch as have the key/bin and used this about a year ago to flash the Hit to LT 1.1+.(currently using Benq spoofed as Hit)I hooked up with CK3 connectivity kit etc etc. Unfortunately whatever I do I get the above message when I hit unlock in JF which is preceeded by playing 79 audio unlock CD...

    Am using 6421 VIA with drivers uninstalled etc etc. Also have about five versions of JF and tried each one. As usual no probs getting into mode B but then...Followed everything to the letter so this is bugging me big time. Burnt 4 versions of the cue file and none of em work (burn good as shows up when placed in PC DVD Drive).

    Last time I had this mother my BP went sky high cos I kept getting RAM execute command failed. I finally got thru that but can't recall how!

    Happy to buy xbox360USBPro or Maximus etc but do they also have issues with these drives?

    Am beginning to think I (I mean he)won't be able to play GOW3, Driver etc.

    The only thing out of the ordinary was that the drive occaisonally seemed to get stuck in mode B when it should have been in mode A but each time I switched the CK3 off it eventually reverted to A. The other thing that has always bugged me is the confusion between the mode A/B switch on the CK3 and that in JF but tried every permutation anyway.

    Rant over, apologies for length but wondered if anyone could offer any advice.

    Thanks

    L
     
  2. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It only fails to unlock for two reasons.

    1.) your laser is crap and it cannot read the audio CD you have in your drive

    2.) you didn't burn the cd properly.

    Oh and you know LT 2.0 isn't out for hitachis anyway? Therefore you cannot even play XDG3 backups games anyway. Retail will work.
     
  3. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Could be carp but unlikely as Hit has hardly been used.

    Burnt ISO of cue file to disk as in textbook.

    Can I just ask a related follow up. I've no intention of using Hit but need to put it in console to run the update etc etc. If I just restore Hit to stock using the Hit tab in JF.

    1. Do I still need to unlock to use this feature?
    2. Would doing that then allow me to use my key and spoof that into Benq LT 2.0 and use that. I'm sure I've read somewhere that it's better to use your key and spoof to stock FW in Firmware tab rather than just restoring to default stock. Does that ring any bells?

    Thanks once more.
     
  4. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi

    Sorry to keep bringing this up but I think my request is very straightforward.

    My intention was:

    Unlock Hit 79
    Use my key/bin in source and 79 stock FW in target (4c)
    Spoof to target
    Write to drive
    Insert Hit in console and update to new dash with USB flash
    Flash Benq with LT 2.0 using my key and put that in it’s rightful place back in the drive
    Viola

    (I don’t use Live so bans don’t concern me)

    Unfortunately can’t get the darn unlock CD to work even tho I’ve tried every which way.

    My question is can I just restore Hit to stock in JF using Hit tab?

    If so, will the fact that I’ve not used my original key affect my subsequent ability to use my re-flashed Benq?

    Many thanks
     
  5. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Just noticed that Hit doesn't show up in drop down in right hand corner of Hitachi tab in JF after sending mode B. It appears in left hand corner with chip properties and also in tha main window at the bottom.

    The other odd thing is that it seems to stay in mode B even after closing JF etc?

    Does this sound more like the drive or the SATA connection?

    What would cause this etc?

    Many thanks

    L
     
  6. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You do NOT send mode B to the 79 just like I have answered in your other threads you have posted about this drive. The only way to unlock is with the audio cd
     

Share This Page