1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FAQ: Questions about AfterDawn.com -- site, company and servers.

Discussion in 'AfterDawn feedback & suggestions' started by dRD, Aug 8, 2004.

1. dRD

dRD I hate titles Staff Member

Ok, I thought I might launch a separate thread that tries to address some of the most frequently asked questions about our site's technical structure and about our site's ownership base, etc. You're welcomed to ask questions and I'll update this first post accordingly when more info gets added. Also, for the technical part, I'm not an expert to say how our boxes work, but I'll liaise with Ketola to get you insight for that one as well.

1. Who owns AfterDawn.com?

AfterDawn.com is owned by AfterDawn Oy. The "Oy" means same as "LLC" means in States and "Ltd" means in the UK -- a limited company, a company that has more than X shareholders, but is not listed in stock markets.

All of the shareholders of the company are also the original founders of the site itself. I am the CEO of the company.

2. What forum software you use? phpBB? vBulletin?

Our forum software is "homemade" by me. It doesn't have a single line of code from any other forum software as I wanted to create a forum that is tightly integrated into our site's technical structure and that can be twisted and bend as much as possible when needed. And also because I like programming :)

3. Do you guys use PHP?

No, we don't use PHP. Or ASP. Or Java. We use application server called ColdFusion MX. Why? Because I have worked as a CF developer since 1998 and I develop faster and better with it than with any other web scripting language.

4. Who has made your site's layout?

One of our owners/staff members, a guy called Teemu Pärssinen, is our gfx guy. All the graphics on our sites are made by him.

5. How many users do you have?