1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FFDShow and WMP 10 = Notorious Windows Crashing!

Discussion in 'DivX / XviD' started by squijello, Jan 10, 2005.

  1. squijello

    squijello Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, so there seems to be some problems when running FFDShow 10-12, and Windows Media Player 10... everything starts to crash on me when running Windows Media player whether that is running a video, a music file, or even opeing the program, does anyone else have a solution to this problem... is this the reason why FFDShow hasnt been released lately? What is another good program to run that does the same thing? thanks in advance

    i should probably add that this is just after formatting my computer XP Pro, then adding SP1 and SP2 that i come across this problem. :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2005
  2. shiroh

    shiroh Guest

    solution.
    ditch wmp10 and go with media player classic.
    i can't remember the last official release of ffdshow. did you get yourself a cvs build ?

    it is an alpha buid so there might be bugs.
    latest cvs
    http://celticdruid.no-ip.com/xvid/ffdshow/

     
  3. squijello

    squijello Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks, whats a cvs build??
    and has anyone else had this similar problem that u know of?
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2005
  4. shiroh

    shiroh Guest

    cvs = you can call its in alpha stages, use at your own risk, might be unstable.

    i don't know others that have this prob.
     
  5. avoidz

    avoidz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My brother's WMP10 keeps crashing all the time when he's playing music and video files. I had the ffdshow-20041012 version installed but rolled back to ffdshow-20040828, but the crashes still happen. Not sure if it's related to FFDSHOW, since I've had no problems on any other comp.
     
  6. Kingd

    Kingd Guest

    IF Media player is crashing for anything, then it's likely a Media Player problem and not FFDshow. In any case, uninstall FFDshow to see if that helps. If not, them re-install media player and see if that helps.
     
  7. avoidz

    avoidz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Will do. Thanks :)
     
  8. rrtn

    rrtn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2005
  9. rrtn

    rrtn Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2005
  10. avoidz

    avoidz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So what's in the new release, rrtn? Post the Whatsnew.txt, please.
     
  11. squijello

    squijello Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    for anyone with the problem i indicated, you must reinstall windows with a stripstreamed SP2... if u need help post here and ill help you
     
  12. squijello

    squijello Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it seems the new release is not listed on the opensource sourceforge site... maybe this is not a real version??
     
  13. celtic_d

    celtic_d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    It is plenty real. It is based on the cvs code: http://cvs.sourceforge.net/viewcvs.py/ffdshow/ffdshow/

    You can also see there what has changed.

    I just do a cvs update. Compile, build the installer, copy to my server and it is mirrored.

    No issues with AVISynth script usage in ffdshow this time either, however the B&W issue with warpsharp is still present, even with a non optimised build (AVISynth problem was a compiler issue, not code).
     
  14. shiroh

    shiroh Guest

    @celtic_d

    ffdshow-20050117
    avisynth is still broken for me.
     
  15. celtic_d

    celtic_d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I was refering to ffdshow-20050122.
     
  16. squijello

    squijello Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    very cool... its a lot better than before!... from what i understand it is ur work, good job! will there be any specific SSE and SSE2 version like for 10-12-04??
     
  17. celtic_d

    celtic_d Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    3,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I just compiled it. All the work is still done by Milan.

    It is ICL compiled with Qax so SSE/SSE2 should work if available, although I guess not on AMD CPU's thanks to ICL 8.1's CPU check. You would still get SSE/SSE2 ASM though. Also some parts (mplayer, x264, mpeg2enc) are gcc compiled, so no SSE/SSE2 there.

    I have an AMD CPU by the way. Guess maybe I should have another go at compiling with ICL7.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2005
  18. shiroh

    shiroh Guest

    with frequent update, its kinda hard to keep track.
    thank appreciate it.
     
  19. nedavine

    nedavine Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ive had the exact same problem where nothing will play it either crashes or with encoded files says the specified module connot be found. i really dont think its anything to do with ffdshow as it was working fine with my ffdshow version untill it randomly started crashing after playing a dvd! its really irritating me now because i cant use real alternative because it also crashes because wmp10 is messed up! if any one can help PLEASE mail me or reply etc this is driving me mental!
     
  20. squijello

    squijello Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i have some bad news... i found out that it is because of upgrading to SP2. I created a slipstreamed SP2 install CD, reinstalled my OS and did not have the same problems...
     

Share This Page