1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FINAL THOUGHTS ON BURNING GTA: SAN ANDREAS

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by PimpDawg, Jan 13, 2005.

  1. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    Alright, I have heard many people's thoughts on "how to rip this game & get a working copy". I don't think anybody has had an exact 100% working copy of this game yet however?!? I have burned many discs in the past with DVD Decrypter, never had a problem (well, except with KillZone). Then came along San Andreas...

    I read the game with DVD Decrypter and burned with it at 1x speed. It worked great!! For the first hour, then about 8 missions in, I started getting errors like everybody else! I believe it was on the first drive by mission that I first got this disc error. It was funny because I was going to post a "How to copy GTA San Andreas" on this site, but thank god I played the game for a while so I could see that the copy I made was far from perfect. That damn disc error, fu** it!! I guess what I'm trying to get it here is that if anybody has gotten a working copy of this disc, not guessing, but 100% sure, please post what program you used and what settings you used. I have heard good things about switching to +r media, and using TDK, but who knows!

    Also, I tried putting the ps2 on it's side and upside down and pretty much just shook the damn thing when the game was running like shit; and yeah, it worked, but I don't wanna have to do that every 5 minutes in!!
     
  2. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    v9 and v7, fliptop, swap magic 2.0, dvd decrypter, 2x, ritek g04 + and -r, 100% perfect working.
     
  3. PimpDawg

    PimpDawg Guest

    Read the disc with DVD Decrypter and burned the image with alcohol 120%. Game works flawlessly now?? Isn't that weird?
     
  4. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    i think i read a few other posts that said the same thing.
     
  5. EdenB

    EdenB Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I just clicked copy on Alcohol 120%, with a slow speed and Ritek gold top and it works fine for me, though very occasionally stops to load... >_>

    It's never crashed though.
     
  6. Jackass57

    Jackass57 Guest

    i'm tryin to copy it right now w\ alcohol 120%, and its got a SHITload of disc read errors! thats happenening to everyone else too right? its been reading for more than an hour and it only at 19.9% done! there's like 500+ errors, and anyway i was wondering if anyone knows how many errors there are, or if they got the game to copy to the harddrive [on the computer] without any errors?
     
  7. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    @ Jackass
    It shouldn't take over an hour to read a ps2 game to your hdd. I would suggest trying to read it to your hdd with Dvd Decrypter and see if you get similar results.
     
  8. nrk4594

    nrk4594 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I read the disc at 1x with DVD Decrypter and then burned at 1x with DVD Decrypter using tdk 4x dvd+r. Played on a v9 ps2 using dms3 chip with flash upgrade 2.2. It works 100%. No disc read errors at all.
     
  9. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    that means something is wrong with your game disc.
     
  10. CAR8624

    CAR8624 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I guess it's all depends on what version of your PS2. V7+ usually could read DVD+R; therefore less or no disc errors with GTA:SA.

    Those who has a PS2 that does not read DVD+R; you gotta live with it.

    =>CAR8624
     
  11. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46

    Gta:sa
    should back-up no problem.
    working 100%.


     
  12. Jackass57

    Jackass57 Guest

    yeah i didnt think it would take even longer than 45 minutes [at the longest] to copy it to the computer harddrive. i tried dvd decrypter first and got a ton of errors, so i tried alcohol 120% cuz usually alcohol skip thru disc read errors quicker than dvd decrypter, but i'll try dvd decrypter again and let it run and see how that goes. i dont have a harddrive in my ps2 [or just another hd anyway]at the moment so i cant try hdadvance right now...
     
  13. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    you can't really skip read errors on a game, you might be skipping something important.
     
  14. Jackass57

    Jackass57 Guest

    ummmmmm no, they purposely put the errors on the disk so u cant copy it, skipping the read errors just means that the dvd burner will ignore the read errors and will only copy the real data from the disk. Therefore it would not skip anything important on the game, since I do not want any of the read errors burned to my backup of this game!

    [the disk is brand new, it doesnt have any scratches on it at all]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2005
  15. sly_61019

    sly_61019 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    9,522
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    ummmmmmmm, no, there are no read errors on games, especially when you get to 19% done.
     
  16. Jackass57

    Jackass57 Guest

    Dude, each company makes their games differently. Each company burns their own games their own way. You're wrong, motherfucker, try copying HDLoader or HDAdvance CDs or DVDs, or even try copying an Action Replay MAX disk, or even a CODEBREAKER v8.1 [or above] disk, and you'll see a bunch of read errors when u try to copy the disks [yes, even when brand new, with no scratches at all]. You have to get the burning program to ignore the errors, and then once it gets past the errors, it can resume copying the rest of the disk.

    Don't say something if you don't know if it's true [unless u say u dont know if it is or isnt, which u didnt do]. Don't be a fag and tell me something is true when I know for a proven fact [ask anyone else who's burned the above disks before!] that there ARE disc read errors purposely burned to the disks by the manufacturer!
     
  17. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I've made plenty of backups and I've never seen ANy errors on my discs.
     
  18. RemyK313

    RemyK313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah, what read errors? I simply let Alcohol do a raw read for CD games, and let DVD Decrypter do ISOs for DVDs. I also burn with their respective programs.

    The only time I ever remember getting read errors was way back when people were still making PS1 ISOs, and back then we didn't have Alcohol.
     
  19. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Jackass57 went bye bye since he couldn't act an adult.
     
  20. dragulaAC

    dragulaAC Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    hah, just noticed, but he made that whole rant about how games have these errors on them, yet he didn't list ANy games with this problem.
     

Share This Page