1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firewalled?

Discussion in 'Windows - P2P software' started by chuj666, Feb 17, 2004.

  1. chuj666

    chuj666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What's the best method of getting rid of the firewall?
     
  2. safc_66

    safc_66 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    A bucket of water ! Sorry, but can you be more specific ?
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]nineteenseventythree[/small]
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2004
  3. drchips

    drchips Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hiya,

    If it is a brick firewall, dynamite is quick but a wrecking ball is safer.

    If it is a hardware firewall, unplug it

    If it is a software firewall, un-install it

    That should cover most situations...

    Have Fun...
     
  4. chuj666

    chuj666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm using overnet and everytime i connect it says status firewalled, which in the process my downloads are slower, so how can i get rid of it? where do i go to uninstall it?
     
  5. chuj666

    chuj666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I also got this message:
    this means, that we even did not receive a
    RESET signal; maybe due to a 'stealth' firewall
     
  6. floki

    floki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ive been having exactly the same problem for a couple of days now. as a result edonkey slowed down, torrents work normally but most importantly dc++ doesn't work, i get connection timeout when i try to enter 95% of the hubs. does anyone have a sugestion on how to resolve this?

    thanks.
     
  7. ANX1234

    ANX1234 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11


    Are you running a firewall like ZoneAlarm/Black Ice/.... ? Or is this coming from your ISP?

    You need to open some ports for TCP and UDP traffic.

     
  8. floki

    floki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i have zonealarm but i never had any problems with it, i uninstalled it either way, just to try but i still had the same problem. i would guess it's my isp but i'm able to download torrents at full speed and also get in to some hubs, so does it make any sence? could it be the work of an hacker?
     
  9. Kingd

    Kingd Guest

    First of all removing your firewall is like leaving your door wide open at night, its not a good idea. Secondly, havent you guys considered that maybe you havent set up dc++ properly? For instance, there are two ways to set a connection, passive or active. The recomended setting is active, then you must put your ip address in the box and port number. Then you would set your software firewall to accept dc++ connections and you should have no problem. In case of a hardware firewall, just forward the ports to the specific pc on the lan. The other setting is passive and works for people who dont have a clue about firewalls. Passive users cannot connect to other passive users so thats something that could be hindering connections. In the dc++ window, it tells you which users are passive or active so you should be able to avoid that problem. Check out the dc++ faq at broadband reports for more details: http://www.dslreports.com/faq/6518
     

Share This Page