1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firmware/dashboard update, AP2.5 and XGD3 FAQ

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by funksoulb, Sep 10, 2011.

  1. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The same questions keep getting asked over and over again, so hopefully this will answer a few of the common ones.

    I updated my 360's dashboard and my backups will no longer play!

    This is because recent dashboard updates reflash certain 360 drives with a new stock firmware. To fix it, make sure you're on the latest dashboard version then reflash to the latest LT+ for your drive.

    I updated my 360's dashboard from a disc and my console is now stuck in an update loop!

    This is because you didn't reflash back to stock before trying to update the dashboard, which causes issues with some consoles.

    It's speculated that this is the cause: -

    1. You start to update via a backup game disc, which happens in a couple of stages.

    2. After a certain stage of the update process, your drive is flashed back to stock.

    3. As your drive is now stock, it can no longer continue to read from the backup disc that you were using to update the console, so the update can't complete.

    Also, as you're updating from a game disc, that disc does not contain the latest dashboard version. This is why when you download the latest version of the dashboard and try and update via USB, it doesn't work and you remain stuck in the loop.

    To fix it, you have to finish the update, but using the exact same version of the update. For instance, if a game has dashboard version 2.0.13146.0 on it and your console is flashed to stock and gets stuck in a loop, you must finish updating the console with dashboard version 2.0.13146.0. To do this, you can use an original game disc with that update on it, or you can take the $SystemUpdate folder off the backup disc you were using to update your console when it failed, put that folder on a USB stick, then update with that. Once you're out of the update loop, you can then update to the very latest dashboard before reflashing with the latest LT+.

    It is still advisable to flash back to stock before updating the dashboard though.

    Can I play wave 12, 13 etc. games by patching them to an earlier wave?

    In a word - Nope.

    What's the best way to update the dashboard?

    Follow these steps: -

    1. First check that the dashboard you're considering updating to is safe by looking on forums and web sites. 2.0.13599.0 is the latest dashboard at the time of writing this, so that's the one you should be installing.

    2. Flash your console back to stock firmware. If you don't have a backup of the original firwmare, you can download it.

    3. Update the dashboard to the latest version.

    4. Flash your console with the latest LT+ for your drive.

    5. Make sure all of your games are fully patched with abgx360, especially the AP2.5 titles.

    What is AP2.5 and how do I patch my games?

    AP2.5 is an anti-piracy measure from Microsoft. It currently affects the following 6 titles: -

    Fable 3
    Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood
    Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
    Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2
    Call of Duty: Black Ops
    Halo: Reach

    AP2.5 protection can be added to both upcoming and existing games via a dashboard update.

    To patch your games, run them through abgx360. That will download the latest AP2.5 patch for the particular game and inject it into the ISO, then you can burn/reburn it.

    Why should I be concerned about AP2.5?

    The latest versions of LT+ have no protection for unpatched or badly patched AP2.5 games, nor do they have protection for AP2.5 games where the patches are out of date. Therefore, you have to make sure that if you try and boot an AP2.5 title on your console, it's fully patched and up to date.

    What happens if I boot an unpatched/out of date AP2.5 title?

    Just attempting to boot a game like this will have the following effects, even if you try and boot the game offline: -

    1. Your console is flagged, so whenever MS decide to flick the switch and ban a bunch of consoles, it's likely that yours will be one of them.

    2. Your console can no longer sign data in a way that other consoles can read it. This means that if you try and use your gamertag or game saves on a different console, they will just show as corrupt data. Some people have 2 consoles, one flashed and one stock, then they move their gamertag between the 2 using a USB stick. If your modded console gets flagged, then you will no longer be able to do this.

    3. The game will not boot.

    How can I tell if my console has been flagged for booting a bad AP2.5 backup?

    Google for a program called XVal 2.0. It's a small app that you run on your PC. You enter in the X value from your console's dashboard and it will tell you if your console has been flagged. If XVal 2.0 says "AP25 challenge failed", then you've flagged your console. If it says "Secdata is clean" then you're fine.

    How do I know if a game has AP2.5?

    The dashboard contains an AP2.5 table. This table contains a list of all of the games that are protected by AP2.5. You can see the current table here: -

    https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AmtrXBZ5bMbGdEZYN1JScjFnMGNncF9JSWs3VmhBNXc

    abgx360 is NOT a reliable method of seeing if a new game is protected by AP2.5 as not all AP2.5 games carry an AP2.5 flag. You can use abgx360 to get the media ID of a game, then look for that media ID in the table I linked to above.

    One last thing to bear in mind regarding AP2.5!

    MS update the AP2.5 table when the dashboard is updated. That not only means that new games may be added to the list, it also means that existing, older games may be added to the list. Just because a game isn't AP2.5 now, it doesn't mean that it'll always be that way, which is why you shouldn't rush into installing a new dashboard update until the people in the know have analysed it.

    Also, when the AP2.5 table is updated, that usually means that any AP2.5 titles need to be repatched and reburned. It can take a few days for the people creating the patches to get them up on abgx360, so again, it's better not to take any risks so don't rush to install a new dashboard update on a flashed console.

    What is XGD3 and how do I play XGD3 backups?

    XGD3 is a new disc type for Xbox 360 games. There are a handful of XGD3 titles already out there, with Driver: San Francisco being the first retail game to use it. It's likely that most, if not all of the big titles coming out (and possibly all 360 games) will use XGD3 going forward.

    The only way to currently play these games is with a JTAG. There is currently no way to burn an XGD3 game to a dual layer disc and play it on a flashed console, although this is being worked on.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. Modking30

    Modking30 Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Nice post.
  4. cooll903

    cooll903 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    this is great. the title should of been NOOBS LISTEN UP lol great post funksoulb
  5. CawkFour

    CawkFour Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    great post.
  6. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    n ot been funny its best to update first with usb then reflash the loop is caused by running a copy and updating with that then when it restarts it cant continue because your rom is now stock
  7. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    not been funny its best to update first with usb then reflash ,the loop is caused by running a copy and updating with that then when it restarts it cant continue because your rom is now stock, thats what happened to me and the usb wouldnt work i had to reflash lt 1.9 then the update finished
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2011
  8. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You got into an update loop because you were trying to update a console that was flashed. That's the reason why you flash back to stock first, then you update the dash, then you flash with the latest LT+.
  9. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what i said makes sense , if you try and update from a copy then it returns rom to stock how is it possible to continue update from the cd ???? thats what caused the loop
  10. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    funksoulb, very good FAQ. The only thing that I think would that would make it better, is if these damn noobs would read actually read it.
  11. cooll903

    cooll903 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA!!! we could only wish lol
  12. bludd

    bludd Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks for taking the time to write that up, your posts are helpful as usual. Thanks!
  13. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  14. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Not a clue man. I'd guess it's something to do with that game being XGD3, but why that would cause one red flashing light, I don't know. Have you tried starting a thread about it? Is there anyone else here with that game with the same problem? I don't have it yet.
  15. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    yes i have and it seems right now its happeneing to me only,,
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/t.cfm/f-152/anyone_else_get_this-909549/
  16. cooll903

    cooll903 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    he says that he has lt 1.91 and that game is a xgd3 game. so it won't play cause 1.91 doesn't have xgd3 support
  17. pronexs

    pronexs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I hate to say this but can someone explain to this noob how to flash back to stock when I dont have a file containing my original firmware. I know all I need is the key of mine... But what program do I use to get tthe original firmware. I have a benq.
  18. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Just download the LTplus 1.92 full firmware pack. The original firmware is in there.
  19. boobooman

    boobooman Regular member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Can you play retail xgd3 on a flashed console?
  20. eebeejay

    eebeejay Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Retails play on all consoles, as long as the key is correct.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
  21. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I've updated this section of the FAQ with some new info: -

    "I updated my 360's dashboard from a disc and my console is now stuck in an update loop!"

Share This Page