1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Firmware

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by Viper3, Jun 1, 2007.

  1. Viper3

    Viper3 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Today I had to return my old ms25 drive because my 360 broke and in turn I received a ms28 one. Whats the difference in the procedure of flashing. Before I used to use xtreme boot maker with samread and samhack commands and I know I can still use that problem but I'm confused because of the options "MS28 Bad Flash Compatibility" and "Apply Broke's Patch for ms28 drives"
     
  2. Carson92

    Carson92 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The difference is that with an MS-28, You have to Flash from MS-DOS.
     
  3. Viper3

    Viper3 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm getting status = 51, should be 70. Can anyone help me with that?
     
  4. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    lol they are both flashed from dos. and as far as your getting status= 51...where are you getting this message at?
     
  5. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2007
  6. Viper3

    Viper3 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have the 6421 chipset. I'm saying I used to have a ms25 but now I have a ms28. I know how to flash, but it's just this error I can't get past.
     
  7. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    when is it that you get this error?
     
  8. Viper3

    Viper3 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    After I select from list of numbers. It will say something and then "port" with some numbers after it. The only way to get out of it is to hit escape and then that error comes.
     
  9. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you know you have to do the 10 second method with the ms28 right? turn the 360 on after you boot to your usb device then type in your flash command then turn it off once the list comes up, once you pick you number count to 10 then turn the 360 back on.
     
  10. Memnock

    Memnock Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    That's why I said check the link. If you try to flash a MS28 like a MS25 you'll get that error. They are different. You need to use the 10 second trick or other more complicated methods to flash a MS28.
     
  11. Viper3

    Viper3 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    But this problem occurs the instant after I pick a number. It's what happens next. It says port8800, something and then just freezes.
     
  12. mikeismad

    mikeismad Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    turn your xbox 360 off before you pick a number!
     
  13. fgamer

    fgamer Guest

    Steps to take:

    1 Boot to DOS
    2 Then type mtkflash w /m /sata ix10.bin
    3 There should be an option saying xtreme primary
    4 Turn off 360
    5 Then Select xtreme primary and count to 10
    6 Turn 360 back on after you've counted to 10
    7 If done right it should start flashing or dumping (which ever command you entered)

    That simple..
     
  14. Ender88

    Ender88 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So far I've flashed mine twice and a friend's once (both m28), and I've also found that when I'm trying the 10 second trick over and over again (with different lengths of time), it's best to just turn everything off and wait a few minutes. Every successful flash has been the first try in a session.

    Follow the procedure repeated to you above and if you're stuck in a loop of failed flashes, just turn everything off and go watch some tv for a little bit.
     
  15. Viper3

    Viper3 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    10 second method worked. Thanks everyone.
     

Share This Page