1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

first dvd burner recommendations?

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by moles42, Jan 29, 2004.

  1. moles42

    moles42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'm in the process of purchasing my first dvd burner and my local store has these models to choose from...

    CDDVDWAS01 ASUS DVD-RW DRW-0402P
    CDDVDWBQD1 Benq DW400A DVD+RW
    CDDVDWGA01 Gigabyte DVD +/- r/rw
    CDDVDWIO10 Iomega 7300 DVD+/-RW 4X
    CDDVDWLGD2 LG GSA-4040B DVD+/-RW 4X
    CDDVDWLGD8 LG GSA-4080B DVD+/-RW 8X OEM
    CDDVDWLGD81 LG GSA-4081B DVD+/-RW 8X Retail
    CDDVDWLI10 Lite On LDW-411S + -R/RW
    CDDVDWLI11 Lite On LDW-811S DVD -/+ RW
    CDDVDWPID4 Pioneer A06 DVDRW OEM
    CDDVDWPID41 PIONEER A06 DVDRW OEM BLACK
    CDDVDWPID5 Pioneer A06 DVDRW Retail Kit with S/ware
    CDDVDWPID45 Pionner DVR-107DSW 8X DVD Burner
    CDDVDWR01 RICOH MP5240A
    CDDVDWSAS01 SAMSUNG DUAL DVD+/-R/CDROM+/-R 4X DVDRW
    CDDVDWSO76 Sony DRU 510A DVDRW
    CDDVDWSO51 Sony DW- U14A DVDRW OEM
    CDDVDWSO02 Sony USB DVD+/-RW KIT DRX510UL

    my system is pretty old now running windows xp pro with an athlon 750 mhtz processor with 256 meg of ram only but i'm reluctant to do a major upgrade at this time.
    can someone please recommend one of the above burners to me which will give me reliability and not to many expensive coasters please?

    any help or feedback would be very much appreciated.

    thanks.

    Mike.

     
  2. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Mike, You listed a lot of nice burners there. Please reconsider upgrading to a faster system. Yes, you can probably put one of these nice drives in but with that CPU and amount of RAM things are gonna be slow, real slow. I don't think you will need a 4X or 8X burner. Its like racing tires on a Honda 90, IMHO.
     
  3. moles42

    moles42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    thanx for the feedback fasfrank appreciate it however a major pc overhaul is not feasible for a little while at least and with that in mind could you possibly suggest one of the above mentioned burners....time isn't a problem with encoding....i'm used to running my encoding for 20 hours or more with TEMPGenc when i was converting to SVCD...lol so this would be a great improvement IMHO.

    thanks again for any help.

    Mike.
     
  4. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    I'm on - AMD 900mHz / 256 sd ram / WinXP Pro / Pioneer 104 DVD-RW [f/w 1.40]

    Never had a problem : ]-~

    I'd suggest (if the price is right) buying the Pioneer a06/106 OEM (OEM is the non retail version & should be very reasonable price)

    Any other info I can help with , don't hesitate to ask ...

    herbs.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small][​IMG]
    'I give you all these seed bearing plants on earth to use'... GENESIS[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2004
  5. meiron

    meiron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  6. drchips

    drchips Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hiya Herbs,

    'bout time you upgraded your kit ;)

    moles42:
    if you have to stick with your existing system, I would suggest the Pioneer, for the following reasons:

    They have been making DVD burners for a long time.
    They have very good support (manufacturer AND community)
    They are noted for reliability
    Most (if not all) burner software supports them
    It is the most common choice among long-time users (check these forums)
    They have good support for most types/brands of media
    etc.
    etc.

    Herbsman is running a similar system to yours, so following his lead is A Good Idea(tm) - a known working config is a good thing.

    Just my suggestions (I use Pioneer exclusively, Burners and Readers)

    Have Fun...
     
  7. moles42

    moles42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Many thanks guys for all the useful feedback...
    I will opt for the pioneer burner because of their reliability and support.
    your advice was very helpful indeed.

    thanks again.

    Mike.
     
  8. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
  9. drchips

    drchips Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Aha!!

    And WHEN they go bust, you MIGHT be able to keep the PC.

    You can config your old PC as NAT/Security/Firewall etc. etc.

    Have Fun...
     
  10. fasfrank

    fasfrank Active member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Messages:
    4,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hi Dr,
    I'm in total agreement about Pioneer. I bought an A04 on Ebay and requested a firmware upgrade disc from Pioneer.com the same day. The disc arrived long before the burner!
    Doc, what kind of read speeds are you getting from your Pioneer ROMs? I'd like to compare a "real" drive speed to my Sony, not the one on the side of a box.
    A little research reveals what a hunk of junk my CRX300 is. The performance has been good but I've read nothing good about their reliability. I anticipate a drive crash soon.

    Cheers,
    Frank
     
  11. drchips

    drchips Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hiya Frank,

    Pioneer DVD-121 (rip speed from 6x at centre of disk to 14x at edge of disk)

    That is real-world figures, though an optimised system with a perfect disk.

    Normally it tops out a little over 12x - depends on the film/disk....

    The drive is rated at 16x so I get some good figures out of it.

    I don't flash my drives UNTIL I have a replacement ready - safety, security, reliability etc. etc.

    Sony DVD burners are nowhere near as good as their CD burners were.

    Have Fun...
     
  12. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    1) Exactly my man , I heard tale of the same kind of thing happening state-side.
    Even so it'd be rent-free borrowing of the equipment , it'd still allow me to do some encoding a bit quicker ;-)
    2) I already run NAT/Security/Firewall bro , Norton SystemWorks2003 (have done since a few yrs ago) lol

    @ fastfrank - deleted the double post for ya : ]-~

    peace
     
  13. drchips

    drchips Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Herbs,

    Just noticed you a MOD, I am going to have to behave myself now, otherwise you can just pop up the road & give me a slap ;)

    Norton SystemWorks is not secure ENOUGH..
    Can't have too much security nowadays :eek:

    Byeee...
     
  14. moles42

    moles42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys one more quick question...

    might seem a bit stupid asking this but once the dvd burner is installed does it then mean i can remove my cd burner and dvd reader and the new pioneer burner will replace all?

    thanx.

    Mike.
     
  15. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66

    It does mean that indeed moles42 , although many (myself incl.) prefer to have a seperate DVD-Rom for ripping (saves wear & tear on the burner...plus burners are sometimes restricted to x2.5 rip speed until it has been flash f/w)
     
  16. philtomo2

    philtomo2 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hi,i was just reading your reply about dvd burners,i have a old pc with 128mb ram but a slow old processor,if i install a dvd burner on to the pc then will it work o.k.im not worried about speeds just if it will work?would appreciate some feedback.
     
  17. moles42

    moles42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Herbsman:
    This flash f/w you speak of...will I have the ability to get it or will i even need it with one of the latest pioneer burners?
    as u can see i'm a total novice with this but any info u can pass on to me would be of great help and much appreciated.
    although my system is "slow" by todays standards i would like the burner i buy (pioneer) to run at it's peak.

    thanx again.

    Mike.
     
  18. moles42

    moles42 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    how would i go about obtaining the "firmware upgrade" for the pioneer?
    would i have to contact pioneer themselves or would the retailer have it available?

    thanx for all your help.

    Mike.
     
  19. herbsman

    herbsman Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,332
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    philtomo2
    It may well work , but you'd have problems when having to re-author DVD files with only 128k ram (for instance compressing files to fit 4.37Gb blank media)

    moles42
    You shouldn't need to flash your burner with latest firmware if purchasing Pionner 106/107 , as they'll probably come with latest !
    You can always read up (and obtain if needed) to find the latest firmware...if applicable here: http://forum.rpc1.com/

    herbs
     

Share This Page