1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First player remote detects as second player remote

Discussion in 'Nintendo Wii / Wii U' started by egin, Jul 2, 2007.

  1. egin

    egin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When I turn on the Wii, more often than not the remote I use to turn it on will end up being assigned as the second player remote, then I have to grab the other one and when I turn that remote on it detects it as the first player remote.

    Does this make any sense to anybody? I thought that the first remote you used would always be assigned as first player.
     
  2. doc_z

    doc_z Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Have you tried re-syncing the remotes?
     
  3. funman1

    funman1 Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah it happens to me too.
    It actually remembers what you "normally" use as your first player remote.
     
  4. jnaks

    jnaks Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    it tries to remember which remote was used. if you have an issues...resync. if that doesn't work, pull the batteries and resync.
     
  5. beetlebut

    beetlebut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I don't think it remebers which remote you used last time. The remote which is set for the first player is the remote which is connected first using the 'A' button,

    Step one, use any remote to power on the Wii.
    Step two, hit 'A' on the warning screen to connect that remote as 1st.
    Step three, hit the 'A' button on the second remote to connect to Wii.
    Step Four, repeat... etc.

    I have 4 remotes and constantly change remotes, and never have any problems unless someone else connects their remote before mine.
     
  6. jnaks

    jnaks Regular member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    that's incorrect. what they are referring to, and what i have personally experienced is clicking the A on a remote only to have it light up as remote 2 (or 3/4 if you've used that many before). clicking A on a particular remote first won't necessarily make it the first player remote. sometimes it IS an inadvertent remote that's still on or hit accidentally/unknowingly, but this sort of thing does happen.
     
  7. r1cht3a

    r1cht3a Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hit the home buuton.
    Click the pointer on the wiimote battery display.
    Under "connection" click reconnect.
    Simultaeously press 1 and 2 on each wiimote in the order you want them.
    Done.
     
  8. egin

    egin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i was under the impression it was supposed to assign first player to the first remote that connects. It doesn't make sense otherwise since the remotes are identical and there are no wires to tell you which is which.

    I guess I'll just put a little label on my remotes so I know which one to grab.
     

Share This Page