1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First Time Building A Computer

Discussion in 'Building a new PC' started by Matt923, Sep 9, 2014.

  1. Matt923

    Matt923 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've been wanting to build a computer for a long time and now I'm finally able to. I looked up a bunch of things I'd need on Amazon. I think I got everything covered and everything is correct. If someone could look over these items and confirm for me that would be great. I'm just a little nervous that I may have bookmarked something that was wrong for the build. Basically, I just want a good gaming computer. I already have an EVGA GeForce GT 640 video card in my current computer which has been working exceptionally well and I only have a dual core processor and 6GB of RAM, so I figure this build will be even better for gaming than what I have now. I'll be putting that card into this build. I'll also be using Windows 8 on this build. The thing I'm worried about the most is the power supply. I wasn't sure if I should go for something bigger.

    Case
    http://www.amazon.com/Computer-Gs-6000r-Multicard-Removable-Screwless/dp/B00BW469KS/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1410230630&sr=1-3&keywords=computer case


    Motherboard
    http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-DDR3...F8&qid=1410229375&sr=1-1&keywords=motherboard


    CPU (8 core, 3.5)
    http://www.amazon.com/AMD-FD8320FRH...=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=undefined&sr=1-2&keywords=cpu


    CPU Sink (Hyper 212 EVO)
    http://www.amazon.com/Cooler-Master-Hyper-N520-RR-920-N520-GP/dp/B001NJ0D0Y/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1410230402&sr=8-5&keywords=cpu fan


    Memory (8GB)
    http://www.amazon.com/PNY-PC3-10666-1333MHz-Desktop-MD8192KD3-1333/dp/B004DHNAGM/ref=sr_1_6?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1410229269&sr=1-6&keywords=ddr3 memory


    Power Supply (480W)
    http://www.amazon.com/Logisys-480W-4-pin-Power-Supply/dp/B000F0DUT8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1410229576&sr=8-1&keywords=24pin power supply


    Hard Drive (1TB)
    http://www.amazon.com/WD-Blue-Desktop-Hard-Drive/dp/B0088PUEPK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1410232232&sr=8-2&keywords=terabyte hard drive

    Oh, one more question I had is if I needed to buy thermal paste? I've seen it mentioned that heat sinks come with it, but should I get it just to be sure? Are there any wires that I should just have in case?
     
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2014
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    don't put win8\8.1 in, go with win 7 or wait til win9 comes out next year.
     
  3. MGEdit

    MGEdit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sometimes it wouldn't be a bad idea to add some but that is down to preference. You might have a gap on the heatsink when you're trying to fit it so thermal paste would help sometimes with matters. The thing to look for with thermal paste is the consistency. some paste is a pain in the neck to apply imho but from experience Artic Silver 5 is the easiest to apply so far.

    I have 2 pastes but the first one just stuck to the glove more than the processor even tho it had good reviews then picked up Artic Silver 5 and never looked back.

    That Ram is not compatible with that type of mainboard too.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2014
  4. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,522
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    thats a good solid build imo.you might want to go with the 1066 mhz ram tho as it looks like you can only get 1333mhz with overclocking your ram.if you do decide to oc the processor the ram will oc along with to a point.always,always,always apply thermo paste when replacing or on initial install of a heatsink (cooler).the 212 evo is a good choice for a cooler and comes with thermo paste.ive replaced a few and the paste is good quality.frankly,i get whatever paste my local computer store has and have never had a problem.the difference in temp between the major brands is only about 2 degrees celsius anyway.you also might want to look at putting your os and games on an ssd and use the wd hdd for storage.
     
  5. Matt923

    Matt923 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  6. MGEdit

    MGEdit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    It could be compatible. I searched gigabyte but their link is bad. it says on their site that due to the different types of memory they can only verify some of them. wtf mainboard site doesnt know whats compatible? lol.
     
  7. johwal6

    johwal6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Your power supply Is very weak. You Don't list a Graphics card so you will need a better power supply. look for Gold rated power supply.
     
  8. Matt923

    Matt923 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I do list a graphics card. Just not a link since I already have it in my current computer.

    Also, I noticed the memory I have picked out doesn't say it supports DIMM, whatever that is, and my motherboard that I picked out says "Memory: 4 x 1.5V DDR3 DIMM sockets" so I found this.

    http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Hype...B00J8E93G6/ref=psdc8_t1_B004QBUL1C_B00J8E93G6

    That says it's DIMM, but says nothing about being 1.5V. I'm confused.
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,009
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    why would you put vista 2 on that computer?
     

Share This Page