1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

First time copying Ps2 Games. Having strange problem with GTA San Andreas...

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Bakerie, Nov 19, 2004.

  1. Bakerie

    Bakerie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Right, I am new to these forums, so please don't be harsh :D

    Basically I finally got a flip top installed. I have Ritek grade A go4's and went to make a copy of GTA san Andreas as my first attempt.

    I am using the swap magic discs, and with a little patients, the copy loads. However it is very stuterry and never makes it past the second rockstar screen.

    I used DVD decrypter and burned at 1x. Has anybody a clue why my copy isn't working?

    All help well appreciated :)

    Baker
     
  2. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    what disks did you use.

    if you used dvd+r try dvd-r i just backuped my GTASA using verbatim dvd-r disks and it works fine except its black and white nothin to do with the copy but i have the wrong region console..i burned at 2x in nero
     
  3. Bakerie

    Bakerie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I used DVD-R, Ritek G04's. was It just a bad copy or what?

    I don't want to try again just in case it all goes tits up again.

    Does anybody have any idea at all went wrong. All feedbacks welcome!

    Baker
     
  4. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well just last night i backedup gtasa with verbatim 4x media burning at 2x in nero and it worked perfectly
     
  5. mcnoodle

    mcnoodle Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the discs dont seem to matter i backed up GTASA with bulkpaq 25 for 15 EURO (really bad DVD's)but they worked perfectly a bit slow loading and maps disappear but that happens on the real game aswell
    oh yea the guy who has san andreas which is in black and white
    did u dl it ??
     
  6. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    bulkpaq dvds arnt that bad there good for the price

    i did download it and i have sorted the colour out now
     
  7. mcnoodle

    mcnoodle Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    bittorrent it works with no probs???does it come in an .iso ??
     
  8. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i got mine from newsgroups using grabbit but i think the one on suprnova is the same file.

    make sure you get the correct region if your going to download it
     
  9. mcnoodle

    mcnoodle Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no m8 i haver it already :)
     
  10. Bakerie

    Bakerie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well guys, I need serious help.

    I tried alcohol 120% today on need for speed, for a change, and similar problems. The game tries to load but the ps2 can't read it,.....

    Can anyone please explain what going on!

    Is anyone up there for taking me through it by controling my computer via microsoft helpy thing?

    I am getting a copied game in some warez stores to try theres, but that wont be until sunday :(

    Well, any takers? all help appreciated!

    Baker
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2004
  11. seandenby

    seandenby Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    as long as you have

    Good quality media eg (sony,ritek verbatim)

    your burner lets you burn at slow speeds 1x 2x 2.4x

    your ps2 will play that type of dvd

    you should be ok

     
  12. Bakerie

    Bakerie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    as I already mentioned I am using ritek G04's which are supposed to be the best for this type of thing. And I am burning at 1x speed!!!

    Please keep the posts comming!
    Baker
     
  13. rick021

    rick021 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hello guys im new i just wanted to know if some of you guys have been having the same problems im having with san andreas game ...its starts up good but while im playing it the screen goes black and says "error reading san andreas disc " and it just freezes and wont start up again . im using "sonic" software and memorex dvd+r it burns a 1xspeed can anyone help.
     
  14. Harerazer

    Harerazer Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tried using Ritek G04s too and I got two discs of nothing (San Adreas, Killzone). The directory reads fine on my PC but the PS2 just locks (after swapping out the Swap Magic disc). I've had no problems with Fuji and Memorex dvd-r but as far as Ritek being the best, I'll never buy them again. They do work for movies but that's it.

    And I don't think it's my burner either because I have done alot of burns and even the one or two that have come out bad, stioll came out.
     
  15. jonjakjam

    jonjakjam Regular member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alot of users have had problems with memorex dvds.
    I suggest you try using better media i.e Verbatim Dvd+r.
    I burnt at 2.4x and my copy of GTA play's fine.
    Also try using dvd decrypter.
     
  16. wyley187

    wyley187 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey I have backed up copy of san andreas with memorex +r media and had the same problem, I have a V7 sony I used memorex-r media and it works fine, can't tell you why, I even burnt it at max speed 8x and its ok, I used alcohol 120 and thats it, I know this probably doesn't help much but thats all it took for me.
     
  17. XhyDra

    XhyDra Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Bakerie first question, what type of DVD Writer do you own [Brand, Model Number, and Firmware Version]? Second, where did you purchase the RITEKG04 media and what is it [Silver top, Printable etc.]? And last, what are the specs of your PC? ^_^
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2004
  18. rick021

    rick021 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok thanks let me try verbatim dvds hopefully that will work
     
  19. rick021

    rick021 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys i found a great price verbatim 50pk dvd-r or dvd+r at around $19.00 bucks i paid $30 buck for memorex dvds .
     
  20. whiteone

    whiteone Guest

    Tigerdirect.com Has good dvds
     

Share This Page