1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FlashFXP problem with crossover cable

Discussion in 'Xbox - General discussion' started by neonbox12, Jul 13, 2003.

  1. neonbox12

    neonbox12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have my xbox connected to my PC with a crossover cable. My comp shows a connection between the box and the comp at 100mb/s at the botttom right but when I try to connect in FlashFXP it shows a connection failed. I even tried to manually set my IP address in my comp and still wont work in FlashFXP. If anyone knows a solution that would be great.
     
  2. prelude99

    prelude99 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    post up the settings in the xbox and for your NIC card first since you didnt give much info. the problem could be in your settings.
     
  3. neonbox12

    neonbox12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Xbox Settings:

    Type Static
    IP 192.168.0.3
    Line Status 100/Full Duplex
    Setup Network Yes
    Use Static IP Yes
    IP 192.168.0.3
    SubnetMask 255.255.255.0
    Default G 192.168.0.3

    FTP
    Enable Yes
    Password xbox

    RDTools
    Enable Yes
    Name EvoX

    Computer Settings:
    IP address: 192.168.0.3
    Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0
    Default G 192.168.0.3

    FlashFXP address used: 192.168.0.3
    Name: xbox
    pass: xbox
    "use passive mode" unchecked
     
  4. seamonkey

    seamonkey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the problem is that your xbox's static ip is the same as your pc's. use a different static ip for you xbox and try to ftp into that new one (eg. 192.168.0.10)

    peace
    seamonkey420
     
  5. neonbox12

    neonbox12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok I tried that but the "connection failed(connection timed out)" message comes on. Do u think its my name and password that is wrong?
    Name:xbox Pass:xbox
     
  6. seamonkey

    seamonkey Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    nope thats fine.

    what happens if you try to ping your xbox from your pc?
    does your xbox show that there is a network setup in the evolution x dashboard settings screen? -i assume it does..

    oh yea, when you changed the ip in your xbox, your tyring to ftp into that ip not your pc's correct (sorry, its a silly ?).

    i'd check your pc settings too, do you tcp/ip setup?

    Try this to see if it does anything, power on your xbox first, then power up your pc and try to connect to it..
    oh yea, be sure you do have a true PC crossover cable not the system link cable

    peace
    seamonkey420_X_X_X_X_X_[small]'knowledge is power, spread the power'
    -Athlon XP 2000+, 740MB DDR-SDRAM,HP DVD200i DVD+R/+RW, 100GB and 60GB WD HD
    -XBOX w/Matrix mod chip and 60GB HDD
    http://www.geocities.com/daseamonkey420 or
    http://www.geocities.com/seamonkeyguides[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2003
  7. prelude99

    prelude99 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    neonbox12, in your PC settings, change the Default Gateway to 192.168.0.1 as well as in the xbox setting. this should cure it since i had the same prob at one time._X_X_X_X_X_[small]AMD XP 2100+
    ABIT KR7A m/b
    ATI 8500LE 128MB DDR video card
    512MB DDR Ram
    Seagate (2)60GB
    Lite-On 48x12x40 CD-R/W drive
    Pioneer A05[/small]
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2003
  8. neonbox12

    neonbox12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I dunno y my xbox wont connect with the crossover cable and I know its a crossover cable. I am just gonna buy a router for the time being because I was able to connect to FlashFXP through my friends router b4. If u guys know any other solution for the crossover cable please post it thanks.
     
  9. Hunkydory

    Hunkydory Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Same problem here, my specs for Xbox
    IP:192.168.0.6
    subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    default gateway: 192.168.0.1

    My comps specs
    IP: 64.68.82.52
    subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    default gateway: 192.168.1.1

    so same delema, It always times out won't connect PLease Help! thanks!
     
  10. FrEnZy

    FrEnZy Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    here is were my source is: http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/42082
    now to answer you problem:

    5. you'll now need a PC with a network card with RJ45 slot, similar to that of xbox and plug each end of RJ45 Cable to the ends of xbox and the PC.your Pc should detect that its been installed and show an activity.

    6. set up your network connection of local area connection and go to properties to find a option called TCP/IP and enter the properties to edit the settings required to communicate to your xbox.

    7. once you set the IP manually on the Pc then go to the xbox and in the settings, do manual settings of the gateway address to match the IP of the PC ALSO make sure that both xbox and PC dont hav the same IP address.

    8. enter a FTP program on you PC and type the IP address of that of xbox, set the user name and passord to xbox and leave port at 21 and connect.

    here is a example of my PC settings on my network card, local area connection:

    IP Address: 192.168.1.1
    Subnet: 255.255.255.0
    Gateway:
    (my gateway is blank).

    on my xbox:
    IP address: 192.168.1.2
    subnet: 255.255.255.0
    gateway: 192.168.1.1
    (my xbox gateway matches that of my PC IP address)

    to connect to your xbox without a FTP manager:
    in internet explorer type (replace that is similar):
    ftp://xbox:xbox@192.168.1.2
    ftp://user:password@IP address of xbox
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2003
  11. Hunkydory

    Hunkydory Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    K I'll try it :)
     
  12. Hunkydory

    Hunkydory Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmm... didn't work still says: Connection failed (Connection timed out) or Connection failed (No route to Host)

    I did all that u said but still the same problem
     
  13. Hunkydory

    Hunkydory Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    5. you'll now need a PC with a network card with RJ45 slot, similar to that of xbox and plug each end of RJ45 Cable to the ends of xbox and the PC.your Pc should detect that its been installed and show an activity.

    I think that step is my problem, how can I tell if I have an RJ45 slot, and my comp does not show activity or even acnowledge the Xbox

    thanks for all ur help so far!
     
  14. neonbox12

    neonbox12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Same here I still get the same message. And how can u tell if da port is RJ45. Thanks
     
  15. Dank

    Dank Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2003
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Alright this is what i have done with like 10 xboxes and it worked the first time.. plug in the crossover cable to your networking card and the other end to the box.. install the evox dash, go in and set the static ip to yes and turn off all the IGR.. reboot and it should come up with the ip mine on all of them was like 198.162.1.200 this has worked everytime..
     
  16. neonbox12

    neonbox12 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2003
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright. I finally got it. I just ran the Network Wizard and used the IP that the comp gave me for my xbox. Thanks.
     
  17. Hunkydory

    Hunkydory Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'll try what neonbox did but it would be helpfull if he exsplained it a bit better, I went on another chat and some kid solved his problem the same way but I can't even ping my xbox so I don't know if it will work or even what to do
     

Share This Page