1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Flight Simulator, PC Upgrade needed.

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by bilal123, Jan 23, 2007.

  1. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hi, i wanted to play flight stimulator X on my desktop but it would not let me, so i have decided it would be better for an upgrade with vista also in mind.

    Can anyone give any recommendations on what i need for fsx to run smoothly on the highest settings with not going to overboard on the price. Also should i go for Intel Core Duo 2 or Amd 64bit.

    I currently have:
    a Abit Va-10 motherboard,
    Amd 2800+ processor. (basic computing knowledge);)
     
  2. gumbowie

    gumbowie Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeh im running intel core 2 64 bit im running vista rc1 flight simulator dose not work good on it i am waiting for the real version should be good then

    go intel core 2 mate
     
  3. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well, i am in a complete mess.

    I was looking at the Athlon X2 4200/4400 but can seem to find a good mobo. Should i go with abit or asus.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2007
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    asus
     
  5. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks, can you please tell me of a particular model that will go with the Amid x2 64.

    Also which socket i get the socket 939 or AM2? On wikipedia it said AM2 was better but there are not as fast processors with it.

    Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2007
  6. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Right,

    Im not sure how much of a computer newbie you are so if it sounds like im talking basic its no offense to you.

    AM2 and 939 are all socket types which the processor go into. 939 is getting old now and production of chips (processors) that fit them is on the decrease. AM2 is the newer type and i would reccomend that. Another advantage of AM2 over 939 is the RAM that they take. 939 uses DDR ram which is much slower than AM2's DDR 2.

    However if your looking for a fast pc id go with Core 2 duo myself as youl find most people will agree generally they give you more bang for your buck than any AM2/939 processor

    Also about your motherboard question asus is undoubtledly the superior company and if you have a choice i would reccomend going with them.

    Any more quetsions just ask!

    Hope that helps a little!

    Lecsiy
     
  7. Dunker

    Dunker Regular member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Go with Abit if you stick with AM2, as they are much more stable in my experience and somewhat less picky about memory. But lecsiy is right in that a Core Duo will give you a lot of bang for less money. And if money is an issue you can build a system around a lowly Smithfield 805 or 820 for dirt cheap.

    I would advise against Vista for a lot of reasons. FSX works fine on XPSP2, of course, as long as you have respectable hardware. No need to eliminate the performance improvements of your hardware with a bulkier, unwieldy OS.
     
  8. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol, this is when i get double minded on what to get, with one person saying Abit is better and the other saying Asus.

    I will probably buy my parts one at a time slowly building up, i think i should get a cpu first and then a compatible mobo.

    People are saying Core Duo is better but everyone at ad still seems to Amd so once again i am unsure.

    Also i did look at the intel E6400 and E6600 but they more than 64 X2 cpu's.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2007
  9. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Dont wait too long to piece it together...
    Everything from parts to fastest and bestest change every other week or so... LOL
     
  10. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    and on the socket thing i meant that you cant get X2 4800+ whereas on socket 939 you can. This is where i need help.

    Should i get the:

    Athlon 64 Dual Core 4200+ Socket AM2
    or the
    AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core 4800+ Socket 939
     
  11. Deadrum33

    Deadrum33 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    In the short term, the 939 will work great and be a less expensive build.
    The AM2 build might be a little more now, but greater room for more improvement next year when you want to do something more.
     
  12. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i will go with am2 but lastly could you recommend a good graphics card that will handle recent games at a good price or should i also look out for a direct x 10 compatible card?
     
  13. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    cool glad your making your mind up.
    it would be easier if you gave us an exact price range because a good price for you might be different than what i consider to be a good price.
    Lecsiy
     
  14. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how about £150($300) or slightly more but if graphics card that supports direct x 10 is well over that i could wait awhile.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2007
  15. lecsiy

    lecsiy Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    The cheapest direct X 10 card is abour £220. But if its flight simulator you want to play this card will have no problems on pretty detailed settings:

    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/119203/rb/24726955003

    Direct X 10 is gonna be good but its not worth £220 just for it. If you can maybe wait a while and get a direct x 10 card when prices drop. Its up to you but if i were you id go for that card.

    I have an X1800GTO thats below your card and its pretty damn fast. Bought it a year ago and can still play the games i want to no problems!!

    Lecsiy
     
  16. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i think i will wait till the price drops and actually start buying the other parts. how long do think it will take a a dx10 card to be a reasonable price?
     
  17. AE27

    AE27 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    All depends on when ATI releases their DX10 cards. I know Nvidia should be releasing the mid and low range DX10 cards here soon.
     
  18. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Thanks to every who has gave me advice on what to do, as i am coming to terms on building my first pc.

    Just one final question(lol, i feel like such a neewbie)

    I am gonna get a 500GB drive but should i get one which has a slightly higher RPM (Hitachi) or the higher cache (Western Digital). Also would these work in my current mobo:
    http://www.abit-usa.com/products/mb/techspec.php?categories=1&model=136

    the drives i have looked at are:

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/95668/product_info/rb/24748846412

    http://www.ebuyer.com/UK/product/108762

    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/108235/product_info/rb/24748833503
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2007
  19. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    go for the higher cache drive.
     
  20. bilal123

    bilal123 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanks ddp,

    i have decided i will get;

    ASUS M2N32 WS PRO nForce 590SLI
    AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core 4200+ - Socket AM2
    Western Digital WD5000KS 500GB
     

Share This Page