1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Formatting HD, Help!

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by aznbound, Sep 21, 2004.

1. aznbound

aznbound Regular member

I was using a program to write files onto my secondary master hd when something went wrong and the pc froze. So when i restarted, my pc cant even locate the hd anymore. im new at this pc stuff so please help. is there a program that can locate the hd and format it again?

2. john179

john179 Active member

aznbound what os are you using and what type of hard drive are you using.There is may ways to re format you hard drive.Here are a few different ways it can be achieved.

1.Windows xp can format hard drives if you are using.
    2.You can format from a windows start up disk.
    3.You can format from a Diagnostic disk from the makers of your hard drive.

I like to use option 3 out of the 3 i chose to mention but there are other ways as well.If you let us know which what os and so on we can show you how.I'm just getting ready for work but if you post someone else will help if not you will be first i will reply to tomorrow with the answers.I keep meaning to do a guide on this subject myself will have to sop be lazy and get one done.Check the guides section someone may have already posted one for your needs if not i will look at getting one done myself.

Thanks
    John179

3. aznbound

aznbound Regular member

Im using the Maxtor 160 Gig HD. Im not quite sure about the other stuff since im new to these things but i was using my hd with hdloader. someone said that it formatted the HD into "os2" format. But the pc cant recognize this type of hd format.

I also tried using the maxtor floppy boot disk but after i delete everything and run the test, it always fails. Is there a program that can recognise "os2" format hard drives? thanks a lot.

4. Jeanc1

Jeanc1 Guest