1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

free mcboot? sms player? O.o

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Kannz, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello! ^^ well Ive been trying to figure out how to install these two onto my ps2s memory card but i guess im a little dumber than everyone else lol. i have my usb stick ready to go with all the .elfs an stuff on it with everything in the supposed "noob pack" from skkaps and swap magic 3.6 to boot it but when swap loads up and i hit boot it doesn't do anything o_O. im using a small 64 meg usb drive. should i just use a different usb drive or is there something I'm not doing right?
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Is the 64mb drive formatted as FAT32?
  4. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    lol i figured it out sorry it was just some garbage extra software that was in the jump drive i grabbed one that was clean an it worked ^^ although i cant seem to figure out how to use it now..after I burn a patched iso of a game to a dvd-r all i do is pop it in? or do i need somethin else? also I think that putting mcboot on my mem card messes with swap magic to where when i get to the boot menu and put my game in it restarts and goes back to the main ps2 menu when i hit boot. when i take the mem card out an let the ps2 start regularly it goes back to normal.(by normal i mean I'm able to boot persona 3 using SM3.6) o_O
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  5. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    If you installed ESR.ELF to the mc, then yes you should just be able to put in the DVD backup and ESR should load.
    Or press R2 before you start your PS2 with the backup in.

    You may have to set your fmcb configuration so it will just load
    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/FMCBv1.8.html

    I have mine configured to the ESR path, and have Fastboot on and "skip disc boot" to "off"

    That way my regular games load fine and ESR also works.

    It explains it all at the bottom of the tutorial, Just read it all and then just make sure to save changes if you do make any.


    I also just use the SM 3.8 elf now on the mc if I need to play any backups that won't work with ESR

    Ok the way I use SM 3.8

    Configured my SM 3.8 elf to L2
    Put in the Original GTA Vice City Stories
    Started the PS2 holding L2, SM 3.8 starts
    Swap the disk for your backup
    Press Normal, Then choose your region

    You need to have an Original PS2 disk in the tray when you start it up.
    I use GTA Vice City as it has a Large TOC , meaning its a larger disk than most so other backups should play fine.

    But your Swap Magic 3.6 should still work once you get it configured right.
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  6. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you installed ESR.ELF to the mc, then yes you should just be able to put in the DVD backup and ESR should load.
    Or press R2 before you start your PS2 with the backup in.


    you have to press R2?

    You may have to set your fmcb configuration so it will just load
    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/FMCBv1.8.html

    guess i may have to take a look at that


    I have mine configured to the ESR path, and have Fastboot on and "skip disc boot" to "off"


    hm maybe they should think about putting some of these things on defaults for idiots like me


    I also just use the SM 3.8 elf now on the mc if I need to play any backups that won't work with ESR

    how did you manage that? I wouldn't have to mess with my swap magic discs anymore.
  7. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No you don't have to. Its an option, would be more for those who don't have Fastboot on etc.

    BOOT.ELF ( R1)
    ESR.ELF ( R2)
    HDLOADER.ELF ( L1)
    SMS.ELF ( L2)
    FMCB Configurator ( START)

    I think they actually have it as default.
    I wasn't sure as I just configure my own.
    http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/FMCBv1.8/edit_cnf.html


    You can find SM 3.8 elf here

    You already have your sensors blocked I assume as you use Swap Magic 3.6

    So then you just need to do as I said above using a PS2 Original DVD

    I don't use SMS.ELF ( L2), so using uLaunch.elf I copied the SM 3.8 ELF file to my mc in the BOOT folder
    Then using the fmcb configurator, change out where it shows SMS.ELF and rename to SM 3.8 ELF, and browse to where it is on mc.

    IT should then show in your PS2 Browser when you load fmcb and will also launch as L2 being depressed when you start the PS2

    So first in the FMCB configurator, you will go to Configure OSDSYS Options...

    [​IMG]

    Then it will look like this
    [​IMG]

    So it should be Item 4 where the SMS.ELF is that you change.
    Then remember to return to main screen to save to mc0
  8. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so you used ulaunch.elf to copy the swapmagic elf to the memory card? :p to copy it do i just put the elf on a fat32 partitioned usb drive? ah also i see that its a fairly big file i mean for a ps2 memory card. both of those elfs go on the memory card to work? may have to clear off all my saves for them to fit. gana need a second mem card mebbe ^^
    thanks for all your help. :D
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2009
  9. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yeah , I just used uLaunch.elf to copy the file over to mc on a usb drive.
    YOu only need the packed.elf 694kb for it too work.
  10. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so i only need the the small elf and i need to switch sms elf paths and name with the swapmagic elf paths after its copied to the boot foldier on the mc? i guess ill delete the big file then it takes up a lot of space. :p
  11. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yes that is correct.
    Here is a basic tutorial to use uLe, E) describes how to copy files

    Basically select file on the USB drive, hit R1, then select copy
    Browse back to mc0 by hitting Triangle, then select your BOOT folder, then Select R1 again, and choose Paste.

  12. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    kay so when i want to start the swap magic elf i need a non burnt game in my ps2 right? then i start the elf from the menu and it loads that one splash screen? or do i just put in a burnt game and start it up?
  13. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yep, just put an ORiginal PS2 DVD game in the PS2, then hold L2, then start up PS2
    Swap Magic 3.8 should load
    Then swap the Original DVD game for your backup
    Press NORMAL, then Select the Region of your PS2
    Hit X and the backup should load.

  14. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    cool I'll try it out when I have the time ^^ hopefully I can take what you told me and get the damn thing to work. Ill tell ya how it turns out. lol
  15. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    works great an now i just use my xenosaga 2 disc to boot my other games ^^ that game should have a big enough TOC for anything other burnt game right? also my swap magic discs were givin me crap all the time not loading when i would put em in this way it loads every time and i guess you can use cheat codes with this aswell? do they work using the elf? :p
  16. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Cool that is great news. Yes your Xenosaga should be good for when you want to use Swap Magic.

    The only cheat device that works with fmcb is Codebreaker

    It is the patched codebreaker for hdloader, but can be used with ESR and Swap Magic

    It works by using a file called CB_launch.elf, which usually one renames the program they want to load , for example if its Swap Magic, you would rename your SM 3.8 ELF to CB_launch.elf and place it in the BOOT folder, either on your mc0, hdd or usb drive.

    But since fmcb 1.8 jimmikaelkael made a CB_launch.elf that you jsut place on either mc0, hdd or usb drive
    What it does is after selecting cheats with Codebreaker, and click on START game it will take you back to the Sony Browser so that you are able to launch what program you want to use, whether it be hdloader, Swap Magic or ESR.

    The CB_launch.elf file can be found here scroll right down to the bottom for the file and explanation
    http://psx-scene.com/forums/ps2-homebrew-dev-emu-scene/57901-codebreaker-patched-to-load-hdl.html

    The Codebreaker can be found here in post #3. You can rename it too what you want. In that particular thread it is being used with the memor32, so is named BOOT.ELF and is 3.62mb, but you can't use that name as uLaunch.elf uses that name. So just rename to something like CB10.ELF

    I hope I haven't confused you, jsut wanted to explain the process.

    Post back if you need assistance.
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  17. Kannz

    Kannz Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    couldnt i just burn a copy of codebreaker 10 and use the swapmagic to boot it up?
  18. smokyrain

    smokyrain Active member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    I never had any luck with that method, but you can sure give a go if you want.
    I have only had luck using the patched Codebreaker 10.elf file.
    I have large memory cards so it makes no difference for me.

Share This Page