1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Freezing

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by StuntZero, May 17, 2012.

  1. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Alright guys, this problem has been going on a few days now...
    Pretty much what happens is, when I'm browsing the net, doesn't matter what I'm doing, I'll either randomly freeze, or blue screen. I can't figure out what the problem is.
    Any ideas?
     
  2. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    what kind of equipment are you using.what operating system.any software,hardware added recently?any questionable downloads?do you regularly do maintainance on it?
     
  3. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    AMD 64x2 Dual processor 6000+ 3.0 GHz
    3.50 RAM
    Windows 7 32 bit

    Nothing has been added to recently, I would do a full out format, but when I boot from disc at startup, it says something like "A USB device is unplugged" or unplugged wrong... Or something like that, and won't go into setup. :\ Dunno what caused that, I haven't added and USB devices for a LONG time.
     
  4. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    what does it say in your device manager?this might come down to a hardware problem.
     
  5. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Umm... I have no idea what I'm looking for in Device Manager. I know how to open it and such, but that's about it. :\
     
  6. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    click on each device and look for an exclamation mark beside it.means something wrong.if you right click on a device and click properties it will give information on its operation.if you find a problem you can try updating the driver or uninstalling it.if you uninstall it it will reinstall the next time you start windows.post back with any hardware problems.
     
  7. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I don't see any exclamation marks beside anything, should I maybe uninstall all my usb stuff and try a format again?
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    do you have 4gigs of ram which is why only 3.5gigs is showing with your 32bit windows? try 1 stick of ram at a time to see what happens as ran into that with a customer's laptop & it had a bad stick of ram.
     
  9. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I had one bad when I upgraded a while back, but the store I took it to said he fixed it, I don't remember if I had got 3.5 or 4 though, that might be it, but would that cause it to crash like this?
     
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the only way he can fix it is to replace the bad stick. try 1 stick at a time to see what happens.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
  11. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well that's lame, I haven o money right now.. Would taking it out be an option?
     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    you should have 2 2gig sticks of ram so take 1 out & try reloading windows.
     
  13. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well I don't think it's the RAM, I have 4 sticks, 3 are 1 GB the other is half a gig, I played around with them for a bit and I'm still crashing.
     
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what is your cpu temp at the time of the freeze?
     
  15. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have no idea. :\
     
  16. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    if have to restart computer when it freezes or blue screen, go into the bios to hardware monitor or health monitor to see the cpu temp.
     
  17. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CPU tcontrol was 95-96 C
    System temp was 40c
     
  18. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    cpu temp is your problem as about double what it should be as should be in the 30's to mid 50's. clean your cpu heat sink & reseat it after replacing old heatsink compound with new. namebrand or clone computer?
     
  19. StuntZero

    StuntZero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have no idea how to do any of that, but it's a Gateway
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    do you have a friend who knows his\her way around in computer hardware? has this problem being going on since visit to computer store or way after?
     

Share This Page