1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FROMMATING HARD DRIVE

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by CableX, Feb 21, 2007.

  1. CableX

    CableX Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    CAN SOME HELP ME I NEED TO FROMAT MY HARD-DIVE CAN SOMEONE TELL ME STEP BY STEP PLS.
     
  2. onya

    onya Guest

  3. steimy

    steimy Active member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    12,030
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    96
    yeah, go to my computer
    right click on the hard drive and choose format from the drop down menu. Most hard drives come with software to format them.
    Also Partition Magic is good for formating.
     
  4. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If it is just a storage drive you can do that, if it is a system drive however with windows installed for example it won't allow you to format it that way. Actually I guess it would all depend on what he wanted to do and what his situation was. If it was new and he wanted to format it so he could use it. If it was a system drive he wanted to format. Or just a storage drive that he wanted to delete all the data off of.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2007
  5. neptune

    neptune Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2006
    Messages:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    other day i copied one hard drive to another . and i chose to partion the hole hard drive to 250 gb with the hard drive software . but when done i only get 232 gb. for some reason i can never get the full amount of the 250 gb.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2007
  6. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Well you do know that you'll never get the actuall amount that it says right? But I think you should still get a few more gigs than that.
     
  7. hayden58

    hayden58 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    NEPTUNE, that is normal, you never get the correct amount because of the calculation they use one MB = 1 million bytes when actually computers count like this 2,4,8,16,32,64,128,256,512,1024 so really instead of using 1000bytes = 1 kb, its should be 1024. all that to say, 232 GB for a "250GB" Hard Drive is normal.



    also.....my 160gb external HD gave me 148GB or use, so i lost 12GB which translates to like 7.5%.....your 250GB gave you 232, so you lost 7.2%.....the bigger the HD the mosr youll lose, but always about the same percentage lost.
     
    Last edited: Feb 23, 2007

Share This Page