1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Frustrated. Somebody help!! Tried a few things

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by bladefd, Feb 15, 2008.

1. bladefd

bladefd Member

Hi, this is my first post and had couple questions about getting custom firmware installed on a PSP that has official 3.90 firmware. I am a complete noob unfortunately.

I have the following things: Datel Tool battery, 4gb memory stick, regular psp battery. I am also on windows xp pro regular version - Some people had different versions of windows(like vista, etc) so they had problems but I have normal version.

1) First of all I need to create a magic memory stick(or is it called jigkick?). I looked through the guide for creating a jigkick(http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/552549) but the requirements in the EasyInstaller file says
    "REQUIREMENTS
    - A spare PSP Battery. Any make will do. Using a spare is best, as it
    will not be possible to boot the PSP in its normal state with the
    modified battery.
    - A spare Memory Stick Pro Duo of less than 4Gb. (256Mb should be
    enough for all applications).
    - A PSP with a Custom Firmware such as OE, M33 or WC, or a PSP with
    the 1.5 original kernel. "

I don't have another PSP with custom firmware. What other options do I have to create a magic memory card?? There was also couple other guides I tried but people told me that you need another PSP in order to create a magic memory card. UGHHHHHH!!!

2) With the Datel Tool, do I just have to put it in once I have a magic memory stick and it will just load up the black screen with options on installing custom firmwares? I am assuming that's all I have to do with the Datel Tool.