1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP - Help please! (Yes, I'm a noob...)

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by MEnnis01, Oct 2, 2007.

1. MEnnis01

MEnnis01 Member

Just so you know, I am trying to connect with:-

a CAT5E crossover cable
    a DELL LATITUDE laptop [on Win2000]
    a SOFTMODDED xbox using UNLEASHX dashboard

I HAVE NO ROUTER, NO XP, AND A CRAPPY USB INTERNET THINGY!

I have tried all the guides that I've found, none worked, and I am not sure if my "network and Dial-up Connections" are right... If you could help me do this WITHOUT using XP I would be really happy!

I have tried the cmd to ping the xbox - which did not work - and my IP is now on the 192.168.0.x. and is NOT the same as the xbox [I have NO FIREWALL - which means nothing to configure...] and my xbox is fairly default settings (The last guide changed it to 192.168.0.3)

I would like to use STATIC as I have NO ROUTER - and I don't plan on getting one - I just forked out £10 for the CAT5E crossover cable, and its a Belkin if that helps...

If you could give me as much info as you can It would mean a lot...

2. chunkhead

chunkhead Regular member

My networking tutorial will tell you everything! The guide is based around XP, however you should be able to work out the difference to Win 2000!

3. MEnnis01

MEnnis01 Member

yes, but that's the problem - I've read that and I haven't got the same settings:-

do I use [Com1 / WAN Miniport / LPT1] ?
    do I use [PPP / SLIP] ?
    where do I input the Subnet Mask?
    where do I input the Gateway?
    ...and do I check "Use default gateway on remote network" ?
    what is the "WINS" ?

do I edit the Protocol [do I need it?!?]
    do I edit File and Printer sharing? [do I need it?!?]

4. locobrown

locobrown Regular member

Read scroll down and read the bold red print: "Settings for 192.168.x.x network"
    http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/523607