1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

FTP/ Networking Question??? Ask Here...

Discussion in 'Xbox - Backup discussion' started by chunkhead, Jun 18, 2007.

1. chunkhead

chunkhead Regular member

Ok, I will answer all Xbox FTP/Network questions in this this thread and this thread only. I am a Network Engineer so I have a fair idea about what I'm talking about.

This thread will be updated frequently until I'm satisfied that it is completely IDIOT proof **With Pics**

***IF trying to connect to Xbox LIVE and although mainly based around the 360, please try this tutorial anyway...

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/connecttolive/xbox360/connectionmethods/webconnectivitywizard.htm

HOW TO NETWORK YOUR XBOX

You can access your Xbox’s FTP via the PC using an FTP Client (like FileZilla).

Be aware, if you are connecting directly to your Xbox from your PC's NIC, you will need a crossover cable
    [​IMG]

If you are connecting via a router or switch, you can use a "Straight Through" cable.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

For this section we will be concentrating on a direct connection approach. Should anyone need a further explanation on how to incorporate a switch\router into the equation, feel free to ask, explaining their setup and I'll make a decision on whether to add more to this tutorial.

Ok, click on Start, Run, then type 'cmd'.
    [​IMG]

At the prompt, type 'ipconfig'

[​IMG]

Write down the three numbers that you get and their names. Close CMD.

We need these numbers to reset to before we started anything, just in case.

So what do we know... my PC's setup is on the 10.1.1.1 network.

Settings for 10.1.1.x network

IP: 10.1.1.3 (My PC)
    Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0 (Subnet of the network, Class A)
    Default Gateway: 10.1.1.1

To make your Xbox talk to this network, it has to be on the 10.1.1.x network. It also must have the same Subnet Mask (255.0.0.0)

**NOTE**