1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fujifilm with speckles in outer layer

Discussion in 'DVD±R media' started by sadsac, Feb 14, 2005.

1. sadsac

sadsac Guest

I'm new to this dvd burning thing. I have had great success with TDK, Sony, Maxell, and yes, even Memorex (with Ritek data codes) and HPs. I have been toying around for a while, and I finally found this site (along with videohelp.com and digitalfaq.com). Man, what a world of information! Wish I had known about this site sooner. I never realized that the manufacturers outsourced their media this much. Today, I went back and checked the media codes of my older burns. Luckily, most seem to be quality media. I bought a pack of Memorex yesterday with Moser Baer data codes. The one I tried would only burn at 4x (supposed to be 8x). I took them back as soon as I found this site (which was last night). I thought TDK was supposed to be the king of media, but when I checked my older TDK disks, I found that they were made by CMC. Everything I read about this company is negative, but the TDK disks seem to be very nice. Well, today, I decided to put what I have learned into action. I saw that BestBuy has Fuji disks for $19.99 for 50. Like a good student, I read the label and saw that they were made in Japan. I just had to try them. When I got home and checked the data code, I saw that they were Yudens! I was happy until I physically looked at the disks. And now for my question. The outer layers of the disks (most of them) seem to have speckles on them near the outer edge of the disks. The only way I can describe this is "clear speckles". I can also see "rings" or radial lines in the internal dye layer. It's almost like I'm looking at a vinyl record. I looked at all my other disks and with the exception of the Sonys having the concentric rings, none of them have the speckling on the outer edges. What's up with that? According to everyone on here,