1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

G6 Real - Deleted Data Problem

Discussion in 'Nintendo DS' started by eviltrash, Aug 1, 2007.

1. eviltrash

eviltrash Member

Hey all, I'm new to Homebrew and this forum as well, but I understand homebrew pretty well already. I have had a problem that's been nagging at me lately:

I had music files on my G6 Real flash card in a music folder, and within that music folder I had a seperate folder just for Tool songs, and I was listening to them with the media player that came built into the G6 card. I then stopped listening to the Tool, and went into the folder with all my other songs and played one of them. After I stopped that song, I unplugged the charger from my DS and took it into my bedroom, and shortly thereafter I turned the system off with the built-in "Turn Off DS" button (as opposed to using the physical button on the DS itself).

Now,everything in the Tool subdirectory is missing, seems to have been deleted somehow, and when I hook up the G6 to my computer, the Tool folder is still there, but with nothing in it. So I try to delete the folder, and it can't delete. A program I use called Flash Rename couldn't even find the folder, like it's really not there at all, but yet Windows Vista and the DS both see the folder.

Is there any way that I can make this folder disappear?

Thanks a bunch!

P.S. - I was also wondering how to format the card, and make sure that it's stilled readable as plug'n'play with my computer after formatting. If I can't get rid of that folder any other way, I'd like to just format it, but I don't even know how to do that (honestly!)

Thanks again. Hope someone can help me.

2. eviltrash

eviltrash Member

OK, new revelation here: the data is still taking up space on the card. It was about 100 MB worth of songs, and I looked at the properties for all of the folders individually and it's 1.14 GB