1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Game problems

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by mrgeorge, Mar 13, 2007.

  1. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i got a problem with my computer and i dnt no if its the grafics card but when im playing a game it freezes and the computer beeps once and i have to restart it. I got an nvidia grafics card and i have installed the driver from the cd and i was told to download drivers to see if that works but none of the drivers i have downloaded install because it says i dnt have the rite hardware
    if anyone can help that would be grea
     
  2. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    no game has worked fully because they allways freeze while im playing them.
     
  3. nasayin

    nasayin Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    What graphic card do you have and what OS are you running?
     
  4. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i got a nvidia Ge force 7600gs sonic and wots OS?
     
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Operating System
     
  6. j4mes1990

    j4mes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    os is the operating system what he/she wants to know is have you got windows 98....me......xp.....vista....etc etc....??
     
  7. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
  8. j4mes1990

    j4mes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    check the game case to see if it supports -xp that might be the problem
     
  9. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The games are lord of the rings battle of middle earth 2 and the expansion rise of the witch king and the other one is medievel 2.
    I think they should work on xp when they are not very old.
     
  10. j4mes1990

    j4mes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    have a look on the cases certain games deed certain amounts of ram to play the games just the requirments are suitible with you comp
     
  11. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    sounds like you are using the brilliant 91.47 forceware from nvidia that just hated all 7600 cards, it did the same for my gt and many others i know, try this one as it works a treat for me (just does not like to overclock, but hey you cant have it all).

    edit

    just a thought, what psu (power supply unit) have you got and what are its rated outputs? its on a stricker on the side of the unit. you want more than a 300w one to keep it happy, more deppending on you cpu, ram and all the rest of your bits.
     
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2007
  12. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    The driver you gave me didnt fix the problem but thanx for trying to help. just so u no when i was trying to play the game with ur driver it said in the middle of the game that the it had a fatal error with the graphics card cos i have the game graphics set to high but i only had them on custom so i dnt no y that is.
    Anyway wot does a power supply sticker have on it so i know if its the right sticker.
     
  13. marsey99

    marsey99 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  14. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    were does it say the psu?
     
  15. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    While I was installing the driver it said it hasnt been tested to see if it works for xp but i still installed it.
     
  16. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    That driver didnt i think its something else.
    With the power supply unit I found a sticker but i dnt no if its right ill tell u wot it says.
    AC230V~/4A/50Hz
    I dnt no if that will help.
     
  17. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,014
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    on the side of the power supply with the case side open will be a label saying 350 watts or something like that.
     
  18. missing30

    missing30 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Beep and restart? sounds like an overheat issue, especially since it happens only in games. Ensure that you've got proper ventilation, or, heck, try playing with the cover off once, that'll tell ya if it's heat related.
     
  19. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Sorry about taking so long to reply and all but i found out if i run too many things at once the computer restarts so i guess it is the power supply unit.
    The thing is i can't fix it yet because i need to wait for my friend that fixes computers comes to fix it. Once i suggested the psu to him he said that that is the most likely cause because like some of you suggested drivers thats wot he used to say.
    thanx i will contact as soon as i get a new psu installed.
     
  20. mrgeorge

    mrgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hey guys, thanks for all your help so far.
    I have found that my PSU is a 350w one, if that is enough to power the 7600GS I don't know ??
    Also, My system only has 512mb of ram. Althoug that probably isn't heaps it shouldn't be whats causing the restarts ?

    Any advice is much appreciated, Thanks.
     

Share This Page