1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

games dont play everytime

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by nycaznk3v, Apr 24, 2005.

  1. nycaznk3v

    nycaznk3v Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i dont know what is wrong with my comp. i know my swap magic 3.3 is working properly because my friend lent me Devil May Cry 3 and it worked perfectly.

    i have tried to burn GTA:SA, The Punisher, PoP: Sands of Time, NBA Street, MGS and all of them [bold]didnt work[/bold]. i put it in the ps2 and the game starts up but after a while the game freezes either in gameplay or during the cutscenes

    i have windows xp, nero/dvd decrypter, Ritek G04 and TYGO2. Burn at slowest speeds, NEC 3500A

    NOTE: i have burned over 10 movies on Ritek G04 that worked perfectly
    NOTE: For GTA, the TYGO2 froze much later than the Ritek GO4
    NOTE: the disk my friend lent me had media code MCC 02RG20

     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2005
  2. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/media/dvdmedia.htm

    The following list is in preference order. .

    Almost flawless burns with 95-100% reliable results:
    PVC = Pioneer = (-R)(-RW)
    MXLRG01, MXLRG02 = Maxell = (-R) ... be aware of unbranded fakes
    MCC = Mitsubishi Chemicals = (-R)<-----------------VERBATIM MY CHOICE #1
    TDKG02 = TDK Corp = (-R) ... be aware of unbranded fakes
    TAIYOYUDEN or YUDEN = Taiyo Yuden = (-R)<--------------FUJIFILM (made in japan) MY CHOICE #2



    Use Quality Media I use
    Verbatim dvd+r

    ***** BURN AT NO MORE THAN 2X****** <-----------(IMPORTANT)
    TURN OFF ANY BACKGROUND APPLICATIONS


    1. Take the ps2 game put it in the dvd rom or dvd burner, your choice.

    2. open the dvd decryptor program then go to to tool bar and hit MODE>ISO>READ. Then choose the correct dvd drive that the game is in as the "source". Also choose where you want the files to be stored on the pc hdd. THEN CLICK DECRYPT , or the huge graphical picture at the bottom of the program which makes it run. The game is now copying to your HDD. Take the game out when finished (it might take a while).

    3. Go to the same tab in dvd decryptor and choose MODE>ISO>WRITE. This will then let you look for the files you just created in step 2. Select the file that you just created. (There is only 2 files creadted so pick the .mds) (The smaller file)Then click WRITE, make sure there is blank DVD in the drive.
     
  3. nycaznk3v

    nycaznk3v Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    maybe my ps2 is very picky with media since i burned movies that are really good on Ritek G04

    can there be any other problem with my system cofigurations?

    is MCC 02RG20, verbatim?
     
  4. Jizmak

    Jizmak Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    2,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Movies are different than ps2 games.
    Bigger TOC games require Better media and slower burning speeds.
    (Which are almost ALL of the newer releases now)
    I have used verbatim on 3 different ps2's (using swapmagic)
    And havent had any problems.(I also burn at 2x speed).
    All verbatims that are 'branded' will be MCC,
    (since verbatim is now a subsidiary of Mitubishi chemicals)

     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2005
  5. RemyK313

    RemyK313 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This sounds like it may be a laser problem. How old is your PS2 and what version is it?
     
  6. afxtwn

    afxtwn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Dude, same thing was happening to me, upgrade to Toxicbios if your chip lets you. It should work!
     
  7. afxtwn

    afxtwn Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    cratch that, I see, no chip.
     
  8. popi0088

    popi0088 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Here is my personal experience.. I burned at 1x 2x and 4x didn't work. Burned at 6x and 8x worked perfect. Do some experimenting, you'll get it.
     
  9. nycaznk3v

    nycaznk3v Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Last edited: May 4, 2005
  10. nycaznk3v

    nycaznk3v Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    anyone know?
     
  11. LiquidusX

    LiquidusX Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    875
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    2 years?

    3900X or 3000X




    use a different burner try different brands and try both - and +
     
  12. nycaznk3v

    nycaznk3v Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    im afraid i do not know what that means...3000x?
     
  13. alecocr20

    alecocr20 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    try using alcohol 120
     

Share This Page