1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

gateway gm5478 help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by vamsilak, Dec 21, 2007.

  1. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hi
    thanku ina advance
    i have gateway gm5478
    2gb/quadcore/500gbhd/nvidia8500gt graphic card
    its crashed
    when i try to reboot it
    it gave me blue screen
    saying software or hardware change or not working

    try restart it thats the message

    i tr reinstalling the windows
    operating sys
    it loaded the windows files
    it gave me the vista start up screen location keyboard cersion(us/other region)
    and its saying load and then blue screen again

    what happened to my computer
    please any help will be appreciated
     
  2. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    here is the accurate info
    a problem has been detected and shutdown to prevent futher damage to the computer
    disk.sys
    page fault in nonpaged area
    check new hardware or software installed
     
  3. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    page fault in nonpaged area almost always implies faulty RAM. Take one of the RAM sticks out and see if it solves the problem, if not put it back and take out the other one. If that solves the problem, get some new RAM, if it doesn't, get back to us.
     
  4. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    higuys
    i tok the 1st ram out and it shows decrease th ram and i took the second one out still the same problem
     
  5. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thanku guys
    now i tried with both one
    it says a read disk error
    cltr/alt/del to restart
    and it keep coming back
    when iam trying to runthe operating sys
     
  6. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Hmm, that suggests it can't find the hard drive. Have you changed anything regarding the hard disk, moved any cables etc?
    If not, the hard drive may be your problem not the RAM...
    Do you have another PC you can put that hard disk in to test it?
     
  7. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    when i went into bios its showing sata
    thats it as far as i know its sata hd
    it had much smaller cable than ide
    regarding other computer i have the p4 512md with ide hd i don't think sata hd is comptable
    i could be wrong
    please help
    thanks for the inputs and effort to take time
     
  8. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Look in that other PC just in case it has S-ATA ports on it. An old Athlon XP PC I owned had 2 SATA ports on the board and I didn't even realise. I say this because you can't do it the other way round (i.e. you can't put the old hard drive in this PC and run it to test)
     
  9. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i will try that
    thankyou so much
    i really appreciate it
     
  10. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i have aproblem

    in my gateway gm5478 i didn't see ide cable except for optical drive

    when i wnet to bois it shows sata but in black letters other s in blue

    i went to gateway website they shows bios update
    new firmware(reason: unexpected reboots)which i faced
    now my compuetr crashed how do i update my bios i download the firmware to a cd and i try ran it
    but no use
    please help
    thanks in advance guys
     
  11. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok i have aproblem

    in my gateway gm5478 i didn't see ide cable except for optical drive

    when i wnet to bois it shows sata but in black letters other s in blue

    i went to gateway website they shows bios update
    new firmware(reason: unexpected reboots)which i faced
    now my compuetr crashed how do i update my bios i download the firmware to a cd and i try ran it
    but no use
    please help
    thanks in advance guys
     
  12. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how do i update bios
    espeacially my cpu crahed

    anyhelp will be appreciated thanks in advance guys
     
  13. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,329
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    A BIOS won't simply stop working by itself, I highly doubt updating your BIOS will solve your reboot issues.
     
  14. vamsilak

    vamsilak Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    thank u guys
    its hd
    and i installed the new hd and it works good
    (so far)

    thankyou for everyone to contribute to help me
     

Share This Page