1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GEARS OF WAR 3 E66 ERROR ON RETAIL CONSOLE HELP!

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by Elmadhoun, Sep 24, 2011.

  1. Elmadhoun

    Elmadhoun Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Hello sooo i bought a fresh retail copy of gears of war 3 and used it on my non-flashed xbox and i got a E66 error... see the problem is i flashed my xbox once to CFW then flashed it back to CWF to stay on live but then everything was going great till i bought GOW3 and tht error keeps showing up when i launch it every other game works well but GOW3 gives me e66 error i did some research and noticed that GOW3 has the new XGD3 but the problem is MY XBOX ISNT MODDED IT WAS MODDED AND I FLASHED IT BACK TO OFW!

    can anyone help me find a solution please!!

    i even went to a friend of mine we tried replacing the drives thoo it still didnt work.. same problem...

    should i try flashing to CFW then OFW again?

    ANY SOLUTIONS at all i just wanna play gow3 =( my xbox isnt modded =(

    even when am offline i still get the error

    PLEASE REPLY ASAP ANY INFO OR SOLUTIONS

    Thank You

    Madhoun
     
  2. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    There's 2 possible reasons for this: -

    1. You swapped out the drive for a different type.

    2. The original firmware on the drive is incorrect.

    I'm gonna guess that it's probably 2 that's to blame. When did you reflash the drive back to stock? Which firmware did you use? A recent 360 dashboard update reflashed drives with a new stock firmware, so if you flash your console back to stock, that new OFW is the one you need to use. If you flashed it back to stock using an old backup of your OFW, then that's why it's happening.
     
  3. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I've been given copy of GOW3 by mi amigo. I have Benq spoofed as Hit 79 with LT+1.0. Am I right in thinking that this copy will give me E66 (same as retail copies with spoofed drive)

    If I get the E66 does that do any permanent damage to the Drive?

    Thanks

    L
     
  4. infam0us

    infam0us Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    thats why u need the original 79 hitachi
     
  5. funksoulb

    funksoulb Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I'm assuming that you would likely get an E66 error too. I don't know what the consequences of the E66 error are or whether it flags the console. On another site, a guy said that he tried using XVal 2.0 after getting the E66 error with Gears 3 due to a spoofed drive and the result was clean, so maybe it has no long lasting effects - I really don't know for sure though.
     
  6. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Many thanks for quick and helpful responses. Just to be clear though am not interested in live just want to play game. So when you say "clean" I guess you were referring to xbox live status. Also am I right in thinking that the original Hit (which is also modded with LT+1.1) would only play the retail and not this copy I've acquired.

    Thanks again
     
  7. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    you must have the original drive for your xbox in order to play the new games,,just like when you updated cannot have a spoofed drive,period,
     
  8. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I haven't updated. However, was advised by Modking and others that I can update to new dash with spoofed drive-just not safe on live etc.

    If I put the Hit 79 back in the console with LT+1.1 would that play this back up copy of GOW3?

    Many thanks

    L
     
  9. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    this is what happenes when you try and play a new game after you update and put in a spoofed drive,there is no way around it i dont care what anyone says,i need proof if this can be done,you need the original drive,even jtags need orig,

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PKMGgAxG7Rw
     
  10. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i updated a benq spoofed as a liteon
     
  11. Elmadhoun

    Elmadhoun Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26


    Madhoun[/quote]

    soooo take it back to an expert with flashing xbox's and make him do what exactly?
    i have the latest update and i have the original xbox drive...
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011
  12. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    have you tried playing a new game???
     
  13. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    yes m8 my son as been playing dead island
     
  14. coorva

    coorva Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    your one out of a million then,,spoofed drives do not play new games
     
  15. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well im not bullshitting his worked fine
     
  16. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Think we are confusing two different issues here.

    1. There is some "evidence" that you can apply the 13146 update to spoofed drives and then flash with 1.92. What's confusing is that there seems to be at least three different ways of achieving this:(In my case Benq has been spoofed as Hit 79 abd fllashed with LT +1.1)

    a. Restore the Benq to stock, update then reflash with 1.92 for Benq
    b. Put Hit back in console and restore, update, reflash with 1.92 for Hit and then put Benq back in console
    c. Restore Benq to stock, update and then reflash Benq with LT+ for Hit.

    2. There is consensus that XGD3 games won't work on spoofed drives but is it possible that C4eva will solve this with roll out of LT+2?
     
  17. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cheers m8 hate it when people say your lieing and your not
     
  18. TonyJer

    TonyJer Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Still annoying that there seems to be at least three different methods and noone prepared to pitch in and clarify. Actually I forgot to mention that I can always use the crappy Hit 79 so that's four possibilities. No wonder folk get confused.
     
  19. metoninu

    metoninu Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think you'll find the Dead Island he's playing is working as should cos' he has the X2 version.
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011
  20. will65

    will65 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    m8 we are on about taking the new update on a spoofed drive
     

Share This Page