1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Genuine Windows 10...7?

Discussion in 'Windows - General discussion' started by attar, May 3, 2016.

  1. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    1. Clone the drive running Windows 7, then boot the clone and upgrade to Windows 10.
    2. Remove the clone and boot the original.
    Question: is it still a genuine Windows 7 install and if I boot the Windows 10 , is that still valid.
    From what I read the Windows 10 aquires a new install key ie different from the Windows 7.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    goto the system page of the win7 & see if still activated. if free version of win 10 then it uses the current windows key to be activated. as your upgrade to win 10 is now registered, you can now do a fresh install of win 10 either on the clone drive or the win 7 drive when you are ready to switch over to 10. will be doing what you did within the next 2 months plus fresh install of win 10 on the clone drives of my 2 towers.
     
  3. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I haven't actually done it yet.
    Thing is if I do it and decide later that I don't want W10 after the 'free' period, is my Windows 7 key on the original drive still valid if I go back to it.
     
  4. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    I did it a little different...
    I use AOMEI to make image backups.. I installed Win 10 TH2 and made an image of it. I can now load 7 or 10 and use what I want to. I have an image of each.. :)
     
  5. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Do both W7 and W10 show 'activated'?
     
  6. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    yes
     
  7. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    I see, but to be clear in my mind you said you 'installed' Win 10 - was this actually an upgrade of the existing Win 7 ?
     
  8. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Yes.. this was the win 10 th2 upgrade... I installed it and made an AOMEI backup. I then tweaked it and kept backups of the progress. I have stopped telemetry and all invasion of privacy by M$..... I have tried to customize it to my needs and wants plus layering a protection plan that I have developed over the years that works like a charm...
    I also have and have installed a pre- release version of win 10 Redstone 1 witch I have not yet done much with..
     
  9. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Fair enough.
    I have Dell machine running W7 HE, 32 bit that I will run the upgrade and and see what happens when switching back and forth between the two.
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2016
  10. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,076
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    128
    will have to use to use the 32bit version of win 10 on that.
     
  11. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    just to add,if win7 was legit and you cloned it and then upgraded to win10,then win10 will also be legit.and its unlikely your gonna want to go back to win7.not touting 10 but take it from someone who doesnt take change well,win10 is great.
     
  12. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
    not near as great, as fast or as safe as my 7 that took about 6 years to tweak to my own personal settings......

    p.s. if I live another 6 or 7 years, my 10 will be great also.... LMAO
     
  13. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    too true,but think of all the fun we have retweaking?no?lol
     
  14. attar

    attar Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    128
    OK, I upgraded to W10 and validated, switched hard drives back to W7 and it also validated.
    Thank's everyone for hold my hand.
     
  15. 2oldGeek

    2oldGeek Active member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,691
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    78
  16. aldan

    aldan Active member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    1,538
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    use a bit from teakdog as well as black viper myself.my windows 10 is running well and ive had no problems so far.knock on wood.
     

Share This Page