1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gettin GCOS 1.4 onto my Max Drive Pro

Discussion in 'Nintendo Gamecube - General discussion' started by Olyscott8, Apr 27, 2005.

1. Olyscott8

Olyscott8 Member

Hi,

I'm very new to all this and for the life of me I can't figure out how to get GCOS 1.4 onto my Max Drive Pro.

Please Help!

2. Olyscott8

Olyscott8 Member

Found this out myself by trail and error. Just copied the GCOS 1.4 Gamecube operating system bios to the card and it said it wasn't a savestate but said it could convert it. Did that and popped the Max Drive in the Gamecube with the Max Drive Boot Disk. Chose the POS executable from the menu and ran it. Chose run back up game and it gave me 8 seconds to swap the disc for the back up! A window came up telling me the game and region. Hit A to auto detect PAL or NTSC and the back up ran perfectly! (Mario Party).

You will require...

A Gamecube (mine is UK PAL)
    Max Drive Pro (Must be Pro)
    Sony 8cm Mini-DVD (Handicam DVDs)
    GCOS 1.4 Bios (Google for it)
    A Gamecube Game RIP (Change to .ISO and burn in NERO (ISO and finalize).

Cheers

3. crzyfl

crzyfl Member

Sorry I am a noob and am contemplating getting a viper mod. However it seems that this system is much better. Am I to understand that the GCOS is an alternative BIOS/OS for the gamecube and that the copy protection is all contained within this? If this is so why have I not seen anything about this method anywhere else? (I am not being sceptical just want to make sure before spending $)

4. Olyscott8

Olyscott8 Member

Crzy,

From what I understand, even the Viper Mods need some sort of BIOS flashing to them. The only thing different I think is that the Hardware Mod Chips don't need a BOOT DISC. That said, I've never had any first hand experience with the Hardware side.