1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

getting close but what is this?

Discussion in 'Video capturing from analog sources' started by ochssk, Aug 28, 2004.

1. ochssk

ochssk Member

background: PIII 800MHz w/256K RAM
    TDK Indicapture analog to MPEG converter
    Arcsoft Showbiz (supplied with TDK box)

I'm getting close to acceptable quality for my 8mm videos to DVD. Originally I couldn't capture at full D1 resolution but defragging the hard drives and updating my VIA 4 in 1 drivers solved that problem. (Half D1 wasn't an option since my software reencoded up to 780x480)

I started playing with the showbiz filter settings and different bitrates and resolutions. By turning on the horizontal and vertical luma and a chroma filter I improved the quality considerably. But what are these filters and what are they doing? Showbiz documentation and website is terrible so I'm hoping someone can shed some light on what these filters do and what happens if set too high or too low. Yes I'm tired of making test DVDRs.

Dang, I was going post a screen shot but not sure how to do it. So the settings for the Horizontal Chroma filter is on (4 MHz) or off. For the luma filters it's between 2 and 9 MHz.

I know few people out there have the TDK Indicapture or the showbiz software so I'm hoping the filters are something general.

Thanks. Love this forum!

Steve O

2. Minion

Minion Senior member

YUV/YV12/UYU2 Colorspaces are Made up of Chromanance and Lumanance were RGB Video is Made up of the Colors Red, Green, Blue, So when you adjust these Values you are Basicly just adjusting the Color depth ...
    The Luminance represents Brightness and Darkness and the Chrominance represents the Color....

Are you adjusting these Values before you actually capture the video or are you captureing the Video and then Adjusting these values and then Letting ShowBiz re-encode the Video with the New Settings???