1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Glitches in Burned DVD's useing Shrink

Discussion in 'DVD Shrink forum' started by leggettc, Feb 16, 2005.

1. leggettc

leggettc Member

I hope I am posting this in the right place. I am new to this and have tried to burn a couple of movies. Problem is half the time Shrink times out. I was told to make sure DMA is checked for my burner in Device Manager. I have a DVD ROM, a CD RW and my external DVD Burner. Both the CD RW and the DVD ROM have the DMA option in Device Manager but the Burner does not so I have no way to know if DMA is chosen or not. When I do get Shrink to burn a complete copy without timing out, the copy has glitches or even freezes. I use reauthor to copy the movie only so that compression is at the minimum. Some cases there is no compression. I have wasted about 10-15 DVDs trying to trouble shoot this issue. Can anyone please help. At this rate of wasted DVD's it would almost be cheaper to buy a backup copy rather than trying to burn one. Oh! DVD Decrypter decrypts the movie without problems and DVD Shrink analyzes and encodes without logging any errors.

2. bardie

bardie Regular member

What is the media you are trying to burn too?
    Is your External burner hooked up through a USB 2 port. And what burning program are you using.

Last edited: Feb 17, 2005
  3. saugmon

saugmon Senior member

Get you some rw's till you get the problem fixed.We need no more coasters in this world.

Since some of your successful backups freeze and have glitches, Bardie's 1st question should be the answer.The different quality levels in media are the #1 problem in dvd burning.

How fast are you trying to burn?
    Burning too fast can also cause those same issues.

Are you viewing those successful backups on a stand alone player on your pc? We need to know if your pc can play those backups,without any problems.