1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Glitchy DVD's -- ripping too fast?!

Discussion in 'Convert DVD to another format' started by dujo, Jan 5, 2005.

  1. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hey.

    I am trying to backup one of my dvds, but it's not going well. I have tried ripping with DVDshrink. I have tried doing a copy with DVDxCopyPlatinum. Every time I rip my DVD with a program that also burns.. it rips too fast! It rips the whole DVD in less than 15 minutes. AFter speaking to other people they claim the process should take over an hour.

    The result I get is a DVD that plays back very glitchy on a standalone dvd player, and my DVDburner on my computer won't even recognize it. I also have Nero but it won't let me copy because it's copy-right protected.

    Someone please help me.
     
  2. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I use DVD Decrypter to rip most of my movies and that takes around 20 minutes, 25 at the most. This speed of ripping also depends on your computers power etc, so I'm not sure why 'other people' are saying it should take an hour or more.
    What media are you using and what speed are you burning at?
    I tend to burn at 4x even though my burner is a 8x.
    I also make sure all programs are disabled so that nothing interfers with the copying/burn process.
    I use either DVD Decrypter or DVD Shrink to rip the movie,DVD Shrink in re-author mode to just get the main title and 5.1 sound. I also set the target size in Shrink to 4360. I then burn with Nero, CopyToDVD or DVD Decrypter, on good media such as TDK, Sony, Verbatim and TY.
    I hope this helps, lets know.


     
  3. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok well I just ripped a movie with DVD Decrypter to an iso. It took about 20 minutes. Then I used the 'backup' function of DVD Shrink. It re-encoded it to about 4.5 gb's, then burned it at 4x on a Memorex DVD. I realize this is not such a high quality DVDR, but it SHOULD work sometimes.. I have gone through about 5 of them already.

    Now this DVD that I just burned, the computer thinks it's still blank, and the standalone DVD player will not read it.
     
  4. MarkNZ

    MarkNZ Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    May I suggest you try the full working demo versions of ANYDVD & CloneDVD2. When using CloneDVD2, Burn at 4X and see how this goes...

    http://www.slysoft.com/en/download.html

    Let us know if this works please..

     
  5. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just a thought, in the settings of Decrypter under mode, have you selected File?? or what is selected there.
     
  6. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ok I've made some progress, but still having problems.
    I think I'll try those programs you recommended Mark.

    Bardie, in mode I have selected ISO to rip the dvd.
     
  7. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I was interested to know because in mine it is set to File, and I have not experienced the problem you are having.
     
  8. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well it's quite annoying because the Rip works perfectly well on my computer. As soon as I burn it it gets all glitchy and whatnot.
     
  9. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Perhaps you could use a different burning program, say Nero, or DVD Decrypter itself.
     
  10. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Update. I've burned with Nero, it kind of works. I've burned the same dvd twice, after I've re-authored in dvdshrink with just the movie itself, no extra's or menu's. i burned at 4x, and low and behold, it works. BUT it starts to play on the standalone just fine for about 5 minutes, then it gets glitchy and freezes.
    WHEN AM I GOING TO BURN A PROPERLY WORKING DVD!?!?! ARGHGHHGGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  11. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    OK, you are getting there......what I would suggest, and you already know this, is get some better media........Sony, Verbatim, TDK, Imation, TY, Ritek and the list goes on.
    But in the meantime, use a Re-Writable disc while you are trying to sought out this problem, at least then you are not waisting your media.
    I assume also that your computer is of reasonable power, like a processor of gretaer than 1 gig, Ram of greater than 256, Operating system like 2000 or XP.
    ALL programs disabled, including Virus scanners, firewalls and screensavers.
    Your processor needs all the resources it can get when doing this type of thing.
    I'm running out of idea's.....lol.
     
  12. beltline

    beltline Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sorry, dujo. I've got to wonder if it isn't a media issue, or a media/burner issue. Some burners just don't like some media. And some media's are just straight out bad. I had similiar experiences with Prodisc, and to switch back to TY's. I tried the Prodisc because they were considered a second tier media the same as Ritek Ridata. But Prodisc would not work with my burner and Ridata will. Before you freak too much, you may want to try burning at 2x and better yet. Try another brand of media.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2005
  13. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Well it's a 50 pack I got for Christmas, I don't really have the money to go out and buy more right now.

    Another thing, CLONEDVD2 will not rip my dvd because it is copyrighted.

    Also Nero will only let me burn at 4x, it's greyed out.

    I'm going to try DVD decryptor in File mode, like was suggested. Then I will burn with that program as well. IF it doesn't work, I'm going to cry.

    Thanks for your help everyone.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2005
  14. beltline

    beltline Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Decryptor will let you change it to 2x. Give it a try.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2005
  15. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    If you have AnyDVD version 4.1 or higher running in the background whilst you are using Shrink, that should overcome your protection problem.
    Nero is probably a trial version?/ if it is it may have expired, but you can burn with DVd decrypter.
     
  16. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hahaha.. I guess I shouldn't be surfing the net and talking on msn messenger and have my firewall and virus protection running then...

    You people kick ass. Seriously. This forum is awesome, never before have I got such quick responses.
     
  17. nanadst

    nanadst Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have DVD Xcopy Express. it has been working fine ..It froze and I had trouble closing it down.. Since then it is not working well. Takes 3 times longer to burn a dvd and it freezes frequently HELP

    Nanadst
     
  18. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nanadst,if that were me I would uninstall it and try something else, like Nero, DVD decrypter jst to name two.
     
  19. dujo

    dujo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey Bardie..

    I just ripped the files with Decryptor, now do I use dvdshrink to shrink them? I need direction lol
     
  20. bardie

    bardie Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yes, use Shrink in re-auter mode just to extact the main title, this will lessen the compression and give you a nicer disc
     

Share This Page