1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

God of War 2 Layer Break -=Where is it?=-

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Kafluke, Mar 18, 2007.

  1. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    I have successfully backed up my retail copy of GOW2 onto a hacked HDLoader. It works in progressive scan too! I have heard of people doing this and then having problems at the layer break. Does anybody know where that is? I want to know so I can see if I have the same probs.
     
  2. s2god

    s2god Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i believe i read somewhere that the break is at the fight with icarus. I have enver actually played god of war, so idk but im pretty sure thats where it is

     
  3. Kafluke

    Kafluke Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    hmmmm. well I dumped it to the hard drive after my fight with icarus so i don't know if it would have worked or not. May never know I guess
     
  4. hursty

    hursty Active member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,618
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    i think the layer break is at the great chasm
    where others have failed,my copy has past it...yee ha
     
  5. rod905

    rod905 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    at the great chasm where is that bridge?

    if the 2nd layer cannot be read the bridge wouldnt be complete?(you will fall down?)
     
  6. rdxtreme

    rdxtreme Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    hahaa yehhh itsright there, the game just stops.... lol first of all if you try and use the save point the game freezes , if you walk past it the music stops "hmm thats peculiar" then you jump and fall for a minute b4 it says "YOU ARE DEAD"
     
  7. rod905

    rod905 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    well its sure there.
    I upgraded my MI fw from 1.2 to 1.45 and it became capable of reading dvd9 and Im past that point now
     
  8. rundmc

    rundmc Guest

    Hey guys is there a solution for that once you reach the level 5 in the great chasm? do you have to used toxic patch for it? I'm also with the same boat with others got stuck in that level.
     
  9. snowx1000

    snowx1000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have almost gone through an entire stack of dual layers trying to master this echelon image, but I finally got it flawlessly working.

    First patch the image with the Toxic Dual Layer patch.

    If you are in windows you need to download cdrtools from (you should have it in linux):
    http://smithii.com/files/cdrtools-latest.zip

    Extract it anywhere you prefer.

    From the extracted folder run: isoinfo -d -i path-to-image
    ex. isoinfo -d -i C:\e-godwr2.iso

    Among all the information there will be volume size. This should be 2083888 (that is what it was for me)

    The volume size is your layer break.

    Open up ImgBurn (works with wine under linux).

    Browse for the file.

    Under tools->settings write, select user specified layer break and enter the volume size number (2083888) and hit ok.

    Burn and enjoy.
     
  10. KitWalker

    KitWalker Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Just followed snowx1000 how-to and seemed to work fine.

    I got the same volume size as his (2083888) and configured it on ImgBurn.

    I didn't start playing yet, but on several posts I saw people saying that if you can play the "Credits" movie the recording was succesful.

    With this method, I played the Credits perfectly.

    Thanks snow!
     
  11. aiexbadbo

    aiexbadbo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey snowx

    with this method, does great chasm part still lag or no?

    mine was only patched with toxic patcher

    when i played up to that part (place where u swing many times into cave) it became little bit laggy
    and then by the time it played movie with icarus (dude with wings), it lagged for 1 sec,
    later on of game, the audio will lag, or movie lag, but they dont freeze however
    the game became fine at "temple of the fates" where theres BELL PUZZLE, everything became fine after that, no audio/video lags or anything
     
  12. snowx1000

    snowx1000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I did not have any lags at all. There was a quick hickup in a cutscene, but that seems to be because my ps2 hates +rs of any kind. I finally beat the game yesterday.
     
  13. ReAps

    ReAps Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I tryed this method and it didn't work for me,snowy did you set your burner to dvd-rom using the BookType135?,i just can't seem to get past the layer break..
     
  14. snowx1000

    snowx1000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes, the book type was set to dvd-rom (with necflash). What modchip do you have? I have a matrix infinity and was able to get rid of the occasional stutters by resetting to defaults and just turning dual layer support on. Does the game completely lock at the chasm or stutter?
     
  15. ReAps

    ReAps Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    When i get to the bridge it starts from there,if i run stand on bridge it will read eventually,then i get the cutscene which is extremelly laggy,then the battle which no matter what i do i can't win then thats it game over.
     
  16. ReAps

    ReAps Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Sorry my bad it does work if you change booktype to DVD-ROM,cheers snowy.
     

Share This Page