1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Google voice quit making outbound phone calls.

Discussion in 'Windows - Software discussion' started by wheelstb, Sep 18, 2013.

  1. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I'm a fairly regular user of Google voice. It was working fine until one day just stopped making outbound phone calls.

    The problem is I click on the connect button it says "calling you" but nothing happens. I have Google talk or whatever program necessary to run Google voice installed on my computer. As I said, everything was running fine I made no changes but it just stoped working.

    I don't know if it is still taking inbound calls, since I can't make outbound calls I don't use it.

    Thank you in advance for the help.
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    have you tried a system restore to before that problem started?
     
  3. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No I have not. Mainly because I do not remember when the problem started.

    I rely pretty heavily upon speech recognition software. The program really does not like system restores. So I try to use them sparingly.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    can also re-install the program.
     
  5. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    The more we talked the more I think doing a reformat is the best way to go.

    I have been working off of the same build for about three years. I know there are several different positions on if it is necessary to reformat on occasion. Even with meticulous system maintenance, I notice a big boost in speed and performance if I reformat every handful of months.

    I have just been avoiding reformatting because I know that when I do there will be something I wish I would have backed up but I forgot about.

    Thanks for the advice, I do appreciate it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    do you have a spare drive just a bit bigger than windows & programs installed?
     
  7. wheelstb

    wheelstb Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I don't think I have anything that would work for that.

    I imagine your next point is going to be making an image of the hard drive. It's something I always intended to do but, when the installation was relatively new I never did it for one reason or another.I will definitely be sure to do it the next time I reformat.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    128
    yes on the image.
     

Share This Page