1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

grand theft auto:san andreas

Discussion in 'PS2 - Hardware boot discussion' started by kenny04, Oct 17, 2004.

  1. kenny04

    kenny04 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    i hear that this game is going to be on a dvd9 disc will i be able to put this game on my hard drive by using my pc with winhhip. thanks
     
  2. nelswick

    nelswick Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how would we know? wait til it comes out.
     
  3. Maestro4k

    Maestro4k Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    As you may have heard a copy of it got out pre-release (complete with manual and case, apparently stolen by someone who worked at the plant making them). An ISO of that stolen copy ended up online (no surprise there). Anyway I've seen several posts on other sites by folks who've gotten hold of a copy of the ISO and put it on their PS2 hard drive, they've all said it works fine.

    So that bodes well for you being able to install it ok.
     
  4. SGrundy

    SGrundy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yes it will run off the hard disk and it's DVD5 not DVD9.
     
  5. buck50

    buck50 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Its DVD-5 when downloaded, but will probably be DVD-9 on the retail disc..
     
  6. SGrundy

    SGrundy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    That doesn't make much sense...Why would a developer spend the extra money to put a game on dual layered discs when it will fit on a DVD5.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2004
  7. buck50

    buck50 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The disc itself can be DVD-9, but when it is ripped and compressed it can be re-formatted to be DVD-5 for people to d/l and burn or use HDL Dump, etc..
     
  8. SGrundy

    SGrundy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I suppose but there was no compression mentioned on this release, I guess we'll see on Monday when people get their pre-orders and post here.
     

Share This Page