1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

graphics card help

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by iwillgetu, Jun 21, 2007.

  1. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i just bought a new pc and i have never been interested in playing pc games cos i usually use my ps3 or psp, anyways it came with an ati radeon 256 card and i'm just wondering if this is powerfull enough to play the latest pc games?
    also have 1gb of ram
    intel core 2 duo 2x 1.86
    250gb hdd
    running on vista.

    cheers for the help, i just don't want to buy a game that does'nt play.
     
  2. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    what kind of games, like BF2142 or BF2? Or do you mean latest as in DX10 Crysis and stuff like that?

    What kind? ATi x1950? We need to know more than the make and how much ram it has. But from judging how much ram it has, it is probable a mid decent card, meaning that it can play probable BF2 and possible Oblivion on medium/low settings.
     
  3. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    how do i find out what spec the card is?
    also "BF2142 or BF2? Or do you mean latest as in DX10 Crysis" means nothing to me :-( sorry for bieng so newbish
     
  4. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I see you are running vista, so right click on your desktop, choose "personalize", then click on "display settings on the way bottem, and then there will be a long bar that lists your graphics card.

    BF2=Battlefield 2 (resource demanding first person shooter)
    BF2142= Battlefield 2142 (same as above)

    This is the next generation of pc first person shooter games. You can look up Crysis on youtube if you want to and you will see why. Personally looking at your setup, you wont be able to run it... Or on very low settings.
     
  5. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    the card is x1650 if that helps.. if i can't play the latest pc games what do i need to do to get them running decent?
    ps what about the older pc games such as need for speed and the sims etc...
     
  6. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Do you know if your computers graphics card is AGP or PCI-e?

    Well I did some googleing and found that if it is a PCI-e card, then you should be able to run new games decently, incuding the sims, possible NFS, maybe not Carbon edition though. Ive seen people running NFS Carbon on a 8800 and they still get average frames.

    If you want to upgrade to play the newest games that will be coming out (halo 2, Crysis etc) then I suggest youi get an nVidia 8 series card, or if you like ATI, I would get the 2900 series card.

    Hope that helps!
     
  7. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I would highly recommend the 8800 over the 2900. From what I've heard it is nothing compared to the 8800. It's not because I like Nvidia over ATI or anything like that. But from what I've heard it is a lot faster.
     
  8. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    no idea if it's agp or pci-e
    how much does a decent card cost also would any card work in my comp.
    thanx for the help guys...
     
  9. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Nope not any card will work because it has to match the certain slot you have in your computer, such as an AGP slot will only work with an AGP card. A PCI-E slot will only work with a PCI-E card. Do you have a preference between Nvidia and ATI? Also what kind of monitor do you have and what is it's resolution? What is the your budget?
     
  10. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i'm not bothered which one i use
    my monitor is a samsung syncmaster 226bw 22" wide tft-lcd, (well thats what it says on the box?
    1680 x 1050
    fast respons time : magic speed 2ms (gtg)
    dynamic contrast 3000 : 1
    dvi-d with hdcp.
    i would like to spend about £50 but no more than £65
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2007
  11. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Wow, thats a nice monitor (I would know, I have one) lol. I think for resolutions of 1200 and above you would need a card with 512 MB of ram but with just 1050 it should be fine (mine is anyway). The next question is what kind of games are you going to play? And how much will you spend?
     
  12. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i'm into alsorts of games, mostley racing games, and abit of first person shooter.
    games i will pay a decent price, as for the card it would be around £65 mark.

    ps. the moniter i got with my pc was an aoc 22" but was faulty so i returned it, but there was none in stock and this was the only 22" they had so they let me have it... it think i got lucky!!!
     
  13. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It's not your lucky day right now.......because I have no clue what 65 coverts into American dollars. Sorry about that, someone else should be able to help you though.
     
  14. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    its bout 110 or summat i think give or take a few dollars
     
  15. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Oh, ok that helps. You could probablly get a 7600 GT for that price.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130073

    Here is one, but I forgot you won't want to buy it from there because it's an American website. But you could probably Google that card and find it at a European website you trust.
     
  16. iwillgetu

    iwillgetu Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    cheers for ur help guys :)
     
  17. Spenman91

    Spenman91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2005
    Messages:
    695
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    No problem, let me know if you can't find that card though.
     
  18. sammorris

    sammorris Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Messages:
    33,322
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    118
    if he's already got a Radeon X1650, a 7600GT isn't much of an upgrade. Set your sights higher, or stick with what you have. An X1650 isn't that bad, but it depends on what you're running.
     

Share This Page