1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Greetings - Need some advice

Discussion in 'DVDR' started by Denzien, May 24, 2004.

1. Denzien

Denzien Regular member

Hello all!

I just recently purchased the Sony DRU-700A Duoble-Layer DVD-Burner.

It comes with the full Nero 6 Suite.
    I also downloaded DVD Decrypter.

I plan on making copies of DVDs. Later this month the new Dual Layer discs will come out and I won't even have to compress any data.

But I am still new to all this. My procedure, that I am just playing aorund with, consists of ripping a DVD to my hard drive using DVD Decrypter and then using Nero to Burn the movie to a DVD-R.

1. My first question is this - do I have the tools I need to do this? If not, what else do I need?

2. What is the most widely compatible DVD format with most non-PC DVD Players? I want to make DVDs that work everywhere, not just on PCs.

That's all for now. Thanks for your help!

2. flash7

flash7 Member

Hello,

I am also trying to get your last question answered. I know it has been asked hundreds of times on this site, but the answer is very hard to find. I currently use +R, but I don't know if it is the most compatible. I think it may depend on who you talk to as well.

3. Nephilim

Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

Hi and welcome to AD :)

If you use dual-layer media then DVD Decrypter and Nero will do everything you need. I would highly suggest practicing with some single layer RW's until you have your methods and hardware working 100%. Dual layer media is going to be quite expensive!

-R media is generally considered the most compatible format but since you are venturing into the unknown territory of dual layer media you may be the one telling us! There haven't been any real world reports of how compatible the new DL media is.