1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Grounding a 360

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Modding & Hacking' started by cigardude, Jan 24, 2007.

  1. cigardude

    cigardude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Hi everyone. I've seen the articles about flashing the drive and they mention grounding the 360 and your PC. Would someone be kind enough to post a picture of a 360 and the PC with the gator clips in place?

    Thanks in advance for your help!
     
  2. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    My 360 isnt open now, so can take a pic, but all you need to do, is use a wire, and connect the metal chassis of the 360 to the chassis of the comp, anywhere will do. No specific place.
     
  3. Azrea1

    Azrea1 Regular member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    paper clip works nice if u dont have a crco clip
     
  4. cigardude

    cigardude Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Cool, thanks for the help guys!
     
  5. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    azrea1 paper clip was real smart! thx will use next time.
     
  6. rastaguy

    rastaguy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    does the paper clip have to be hooked to a wire?

    or just rung around the chassis of the 360?
     
  7. ha9981

    ha9981 Regular member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just make it touch the chasis of 360 and your pc, and make sure u somehow have them attached well so that it won't just fall off.
     
  8. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    does it matter if you ground the 360's? as long as the metal from the 360 doesnt touch the tower of the computer, then it shouldnt do anything? Am i right?
     
  9. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    As long as the metal chassis of the xbox 360 and pc and attached together, there will be no problem, wire ends should not be touched to the motherboard or any other component in both xbox 360 and pc, otherwise you will blow one or both things up.
     
  10. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well, what i am saying is that do you really need to ground your system to the computer? like as long as the metal on both the xbox and the pc dont touch, there should be no problem of shorting or anything of that matter. am i right? i just am not sure so i was questioning that. thanks!
     
  11. paul91

    paul91 Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    970
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i heard that everyone who didnt ground their xbox when flashing didnt have a problem but i would recommend doing it as its an extra precaution
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2007
  12. motomods

    motomods Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    my first flash i was so excited i forgot to ground.. 360 still works.. afte that i grounded everytime though. i would always ground it whats it gonna hurt and it only takes another 5 seconds..
     
  13. lilg_06

    lilg_06 Regular member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    When I flashed my 360, my tower was layed down, and my 360 was placed ontop of the chassis where the dvd drives are, so thats how I grounded it.
     
  14. mduga

    mduga Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i would ground it just in case.... don't wanna take a chance with a $300 system + whatever your computer costs.

    -duga-
     
  15. duboy1

    duboy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2003
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well i guess thats enough feedback to tell me to ground it. lol. Thanks for the advice!
     

Share This Page