1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gta rip to DVD5

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by Eazyduzit, Oct 9, 2004.

  1. Eazyduzit

    Eazyduzit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    was wondering how much of the dvd would be taken off. the music gameplay what? since its a dvd9
     
  2. Eazyduzit

    Eazyduzit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    is there a way to use swap magic dvd and cd for refresh toc to play a full dvd9 like gta4. and when its riped to dvd5 what will be lost exactly
     
  3. ozzy1

    ozzy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It will have to be split to two discs havent tried it with another game yet but have a good idea on how to do it. Looking forward to the challenge.
     
  4. Eazyduzit

    Eazyduzit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    ok cool post a thread when u do, u'll be helping lots of us, so it will be the full game but on 2 dvd5? when do u switch between dvds
     
  5. DJ_Yuz

    DJ_Yuz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ahhhh fusk. I should've expected it would be a DVD-9. I actually have a DVD-9 burner, but for some mysterious reason my PS2 absolutely refuses to boot them. Might anyone have this problem too? Or any sugestions?
     
  6. Eazyduzit

    Eazyduzit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    what mod chip u got
     
  7. ozzy1

    ozzy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I will i know that i get each layer of the disc and burn them onto seperate dvds. But what i'm really counting on is that this doesn't happen.
    Layer 1= Island 1
    Layer 2= Island 2
    This would make it ridiculously annoying to play.
    Then i wouldn't bother doing it at all.
    Has anyone ever backed up a dvd9 to two dvd5 discs before? And when did they have to swap discs?
     
  8. Ashman1

    Ashman1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  9. DJ_Yuz

    DJ_Yuz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Eazyduzit: I got a Messiah 2. Actually, I havent tried booting any DVD9's myself, but when I took my PS2 into a shop to get the tray fixed, they tested a couple of DVD9's and reportedly none worked.
     
  10. lynch190

    lynch190 Guest

    Is there anyway of just making 2 games disks, using normal dvd-r's, and without using 50 different swag methods, and with just a normal dvd burner!??
    I will really need to back-up San Andreas!

    Please, please help??

    Im using a V9 PS2, with a Flip-top.
     
  11. Eazyduzit

    Eazyduzit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    its cool that everyones sharing there info. keep this thread goin theres gotta be a way to make 2 dvd5 out of a dvd9 cause we need to back up dvd9 games u no
     
  12. DJ_Yuz

    DJ_Yuz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Well, I'm sure one group or another will figure it out; thats not what I'm worried about. I mean, look at the incredible amount of work put into some DVDRips--groups will continue to innovate and work one step ahead.

    What I AM worried about is the pain in the ass factor. For a free-roaming game like GTA, it would be hugely annoying to change discs for each location.

    Oh, and as for the first question Eazyduzit asked in this thread, I think it'd be a better idea to downsample radio and voice samples (a la Xenosaga DVD5 rip) than to rip it to two discs; assuming of course you can get it small enough while maintaining reasonable quality.
     
  13. Eazyduzit

    Eazyduzit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    well i heared the music takes up most space, so mabey that goes on a seperate dvd and the other dvd for the game
     
  14. ozzy1

    ozzy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I just purchased a network adaptor and am planning on buying a hardrive for my ps2.
    I think i will just save it onto this the only games i would use it for is:
    San Andreas and Gran Turismo 4 because both are dual layer (dvd9) games.
    It's probabbly the easiest way. Buy i will try to split to help you guys out aswell.
     
  15. lynch190

    lynch190 Guest

    thank ozzy. keep us updated ;)
     
  16. Eazyduzit

    Eazyduzit Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    wait if u get a hd loader and a hardrive u can just boot dvd9 like gta4 and it will work? i heared dvd9 dont work sometimes with hd loader
     
  17. ozzy1

    ozzy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    You have to flatten the image into a large single layer and transfer it to hard drive using your p.c.
    I have a guide which i can mail to you if you want.
     
  18. Sincere63

    Sincere63 Guest

    ozzy1 - - do you think you can send me that sheet about how to put DVD-9's on the HD casue i have HD Advance
     
  19. ozzy1

    ozzy1 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Yeah pm me your email address
     
  20. t-180

    t-180 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ozzy can u send me that to bro? , tha_kak@hotmail.com
     

Share This Page