1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

** GTA: SA ** problem with SM DVD 2.0/SM DVD 3.0

Discussion in 'PS2 - DVD backup discussion' started by sacro, Nov 25, 2004.

  1. sacro

    sacro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hiya,

    I have problem with GTA San Andreas: the game loads slowly in the beginning/when going in and out houses/changing radio stations/etc... When I stop after little cruisin', plenty graphics are invisible or non-detailed. If i stay steady long enough, all of them will load eventually.

    So I think the problem is that my ps2 cannot read data fast enough. my boot sequence:

    - reset with SM 2.0 DVD
    - open tray with slide tool
    - change SM 2.0 to SM 3.0 DVD
    - close tray with slide tool
    - press "x", program loads
    - "eject"
    - change SM 3.0 to GTA3 (TOC disk)
    - "eject", tray closes
    - open tray with slide tool
    - change GTA3 to GTA:SA (backup)
    - close tray with slide tool
    - press "square"
    - GTA:SA starts

    * the console is v5/v6
    * Datawrite Red V3 DVD-R (compatibility with my toaster is 5/5)
    * burned with Nero 6.2

    this sequence works perfectly with Burnout3. I've burned GTA:SA 3 times. 2 times PAL version (with DVDDecrypter and Nero) and 1 NTSC with Nero. I've also tried Vice City and GT3 as TOC disks.

    !!! Any help appreciated !!!

    edit: typos
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2004
  2. sacro

    sacro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  3. sacro

    sacro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    up. any1?
     
  4. teggy

    teggy Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2004
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Exact same happens to me. I used optoriter04 media.

    It's nothing to do with your swap method, all I can suggest is try better media, ie Ritek G04. I am going to make another backup on my new media tonight, the media is TDK G02. It's in the same class as Ritek G04 so it's good.

    But why are you using a TOC refresh? You don't need to, Swap Magic2.0 can run it on it's own. You would have those problems without the TOC refresh so... I dnt know if Datawrite is good media, but try sumit else.
     
  5. sacro

    sacro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    yes, Swap Magic 2.0 runs on its own. i use it only to load Swap Magic 3.0. I've understood that with 3.0 results are best when used biggest possible TOC disk. sizes listed here -> http://forums.afterdawn.com/thread_view.cfm/44667

    these i have tested:
    4.37GB PAL GTA3
    4.35GB USA SWAP MAGIC DVD DISK V2.0
    4.34GB USA GTA: VICE CITY
    3.43GB PAL GT3

    GTA Vice City and GTA3 works best. Without SM 3.0 and TOC, the game hardly loads (some times does, sometimes don't)

    these are the dvd-r that i've been using with my NEC burner. works perfectly with DVD movies and data. http://www.mpegit.net/modules.php?name=Reviews&rop=showcontent&id=185

    Maybe the problem is that my PS2 is sooo old? :(
     
  6. sacro

    sacro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    still no help... :(

    I've burned recently MGS3-Snake Eater and GT4-Prologue, they both work perfectly for me.

    summary:

    working with no problems at all
    - MGS3
    - Burnout 3
    - GT4 - Prologue

    minor difficulties with reading disk
    - NFSU2

    major problems, game loads but soooo sloooowwly.
    - GTA:SA
    - FlatOut
     
  7. Gogeta244

    Gogeta244 Guest

    GTA San Andreas is awsome
     
  8. nolteripp

    nolteripp Guest

    gta:sa=alcohol 120%=tdk-1x=espn nfl 2k5=perfect
     
  9. sacro

    sacro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hmmm...thx for the tip :p
     
  10. Djlai78

    Djlai78 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2004
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Burn the games at 2x and not max speed.
     
  11. sacro

    sacro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    my DVD-media supports [bold]only[/bold] 4x.
     

Share This Page