1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GTA: San Andreas to PSP?

Discussion in 'Sony PSP - Mod and firmware discussion' started by warnerve, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. warnerve

    warnerve Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Is this possible? if so how?
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2007
  2. AfterDawn

    AfterDawn Advertisement

  3. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  4. Propagand

    Propagand Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I dont think so. But if its not impossible then its improbable. The load times would be so long that you could use the bathroom and still have to wait just so it doesnt hiccup between the gameplay.
  5. Ratchet2

    Ratchet2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    You would not be able to play any PS2 game on PSP (except perhaps for Bubble Bobble, if it exists for PS2). San Andreas would be the last PS2 game that you would be able to play on a PSP, because it's freaking huge. I myself don't have the game, but I've played through it, and let me tell you, there is no way that you could run that amount of data through a PSP.

    ...Sorry.
  6. Dr1ver

    Dr1ver Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,904
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    A bit off topic but there was some guy that managed to make a portable ps2 from the slim line version this is the only way that you could play GTA San Andreas on the go!
  7. warnerve

    warnerve Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I thought you could fit PS2 games onto PSP...according to pspmod.com
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2007
  8. BrewAgent

    BrewAgent Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Source. PSP2 is coming with a higher firmware version..

    PS2 games would run terribly slow. When some SNES games lag, think of running a PS2 game..
  9. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    PS1 Games run smoothly and at full speed...shouldnt be tooooo long.
  10. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    not to mention the button configuration.....two analong sticks on the ps2 controller...4 trigger buttons...Try getting that to work on the psp...
  11. haasmon92

    haasmon92 Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  12. marlino23

    marlino23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    how bout san andreas stories. CFW users can toggle the speed of it. but san andreas is HUUUUGE. it would run slowly. it was 3.5 ish GB for ps2, try fitting that into about 1.8gbs for psp's umds :S
  13. mrmcman

    mrmcman Guest

    Well, we compress ISO's to CSO's, don't we? It'd be a long shot, but Sony people are elite programmers, and probably have an even better compression system than our best, .dax
  14. marlino23

    marlino23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    its true, but with compression comes slower gameplay, thus probly wasting your battery alot faster than usual.
  15. aftrdrawn

    aftrdrawn Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    How to play GTA San Andreas on PSP

    You need:

    SOftware:
    PSPw0rm v2.0
    Magic ISO (any version)
    YBox 359.9

    Hardware:
    PSP
    PC
    DATACABLE (pc to psp)
    GTA San Andreas (PS2)
    4 GB - Memory Stick Pro Duo


    1) Load the GTA San Andreas PS2 Disc on your PC

    2) Copy it all in to a folder on your PC

    3) Open Magic ISO and then put all the GTA San Andreas files
    in to a ISO-file and save it.

    4) Call the ISO: gta_sa_YXLOAD.ISO

    5) Rename .ISO to .UMD (gta_sa_YXLOAD.UMD)

    6) gta_sa_YXLOAD.UMD size is 4.4 GB.Load it with PSPw0rm
    and click "Stream N' Cut" wait 5-10 min. and now is the size 3.9 GB
    and it is PSP-able

    7) Connect your PSP to PC and copy YBox_359.9.EBOOT to
    f:/PSP/GAMES/YBOX/ - restart your PSP

    8) Connect your PSP to PC agein and copy gta_sa_YXLOAD.UMD
    to the Memory Stick: f:/PSP/GAMES/YBOX/GTA_SA/gta_sa_YXLOAD.UMD

    9) Unconnect the PSP, restart it and go to Game > Memory Stick™
    click on YBox 359.9 and then load GTASA

    10) Enjoy

    More:
    Firmware 2.5 and up works
    Set PSP speed to 333 MHz

    Bugs:
    It takes 1-2 min. to save the game
    The audio is bad
    The Liberty City Mission is missing
    and PS2 cheats dont work (use patch)

    You can do this with 98% of all PS2 and PS1 games!
    Remember thiS is ilegal!


    TheBestWays (c)
  16. pspdude12

    pspdude12 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had time to glance at what you wrote, it seemed reasonable.. but I'll try it I guess. Thanks
  17. marlino23

    marlino23 Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,821
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hahaha. What a joke! TheBestWays think they're clever don't they. They give you a link to a RAR file that has been encrpted with a password and don't tell you it. In it is a simple picture of a gta: sa cover with the PSP logo on top. pspw0rm and YBox 359.9 aren't even legit programs! I googled it and the only results that would come up is this fake way of playing GTA. It's not possible to play GTA SA on the psp, if it was, we'd see some real proof on youtube or a video of any kind.. this is fake.. guaranteed :D
  18. Ratchet2

    Ratchet2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thank you! Finally, some common sense.

    *sigh*

    I WILL SAY THIS AGAIN. IT IS BARELY POSSIBLE TO PLAY PS2 ISO'S ON A PC. A PSP HAS AN INFINITELY LOWER MEORY CAPACITY. IN ENGLISH, THAT TRANSLATES TO MEAN THAT PLAYING ANY PS2 GAME ON YOUR PSP IS IMPOSSIBLE RIGHT NOW.
  19. EEE31

    EEE31 Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Ok, if this can work then what about Simpsons: Hit and Run? This is by far the best Simpsons game that has come out. I cant imagine that this should be anywhere near as hard to do as GTA:SA since it is simply a cartoon game.
  20. dEEz_nUtz

    dEEz_nUtz Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    I cant believe I am still subscribed to this dinosaur of a thread..

    @EEE31-Unless you know of a PS2 emulator that works for the PSP, then you can play 'Hit and Run'-otherwise you will have to continue playing it on the PS2 like everyone else.
  21. cmv120

    cmv120 Guest

    if they can fit the game without all the missions(like just the map and maybe like 50 missions), couldnt they split the game into like 2 or 3 umds?

Share This Page