1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

GTRom Loader v4.0 Problem

Discussion in 'Digital TV - UK & Europe' started by Gadge64, Jan 16, 2008.

  1. Gadge64

    Gadge64 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Hi guys, I've been meaning to install the latest firmware on my *view clone thanks to some great advice from certain members *cough Celtic71 cough* but unfortunately ran into an issue while trying to do so. When I'm setting up GTRom Loader to begin transferring, it gives me a choice of what COM port the USB->Serial cable is using. The port it's using is COM9, but GTRom Loader only allows me to choose from COM1-4.

    Do any of you guys know how to change the COM ports that devices use?

    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    To see which port your USB adapter is connected to, connect your USB adapter and follow the following instructions:

    1. Go to the Start Menu
    2. Right click on "My Computer"
    3. Select "Properties"
    4. Click on the "Hardware" tab
    5. Click on "Device Manager"
    6. Click the + sign next to "Ports (COM & LPT)"
    7. One of the listed ports should indicate which port your USB adapter is connected to (e.g. COM1, COM2, COM3, etc.)
    8. Go back to the Gtromloader and make sure it is looking at the correct port.
    9. You should be able to transfer data once the correct port is selected

    If you need drivers go here

    http://www.gilsson.com/usb_drivers_download.htm

     
  3. Gadge64

    Gadge64 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Lol did you not even read my post? all the information you asked for is right there.

    Thanks for the reply, but come on!
     
  4. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    You threading deep water with a reply like that can you understand your own question or how to use my solution?
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2008
  5. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    All the great advice I have given you before , I learned it all from Scouser :)

    Did you try and follow the guide he instructed you too ?
     
  6. Gadge64

    Gadge64 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes, I did do everything he suggested before I made this thread, that's how I found out that my USB->serial cable was using COM9, as I said in the first post.

    GTRom Loader only has the option to select between COM1-4.



    That's where the problem lies.


    Thanks for your responses.
     
  7. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Yep thats quite easy to fix.
     
  8. Gadge64

    Gadge64 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Super, if you have any links that would be great.

    Cheers.
     
  9. sc0user

    sc0user Active member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    13,111
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    Do you not know how to change port settings?
     
  10. Gadge64

    Gadge64 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yeah, I didn't know how to change my COM settings. Fixed now though.


    Thanks for the replies.
     
  11. Celtic71

    Celtic71 Active member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    5,948
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    96
    No problem
     

Share This Page