1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Guide for all emulators for the PS2

Discussion in 'PS2 - CD backup discussion' started by theend757, Jun 9, 2006.

  1. theend757

    theend757 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes you can add more mame roms here a little guide from Hursty that he wrote

    to use more roms,you need to unpack each rom,and place it inside its own folder,and rename each folder the same name as the rom
    once you have done this,you place all the folders inside the "rom" folder

    however,you may come across a few problems with conflicting lba's if you use loads of them

    i have been working on a compilation,and managed to get quite a few on there,but the lba tables became too much of a sticky point,so i kept the numbers down

    to create the list btw,i just made a .bat file,which now makes the list for me,saves hours compiling the list one by one,or you can use DOS,(thx huru),and then used office word to change them into CAPS

    TO MAKE THE LIST FILE,assuming you call the folder roms,and place the rom folder in the local HD C:\

    START/RUN/CMD

    opens dos cmd box

    type in cd\
    this then appears c:\>
    then type cd roms
    this then appears c:\roms
    then type .txt

    then copy the text you need,then paste it into microsoft word,highlight it all,then press SHIFT and F3,this will convert them from lower case to UPPER CASE
     
  2. TDCStudio

    TDCStudio Guest

    theend757, this is a great guide! My friend gave me his PS1 (modded, because someone spilt juice on it).Besides imbnes (already have it), will any of these emulators work on a PS1? I know its a stupid question but if anyone does know,that would be loads of help.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 28, 2007
  3. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
  4. theend757

    theend757 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yea like vcbc said there arent much emulators for the psone. The only emulator that runs good on the psone is the imbnes but it all good.
     
  5. dpop28

    dpop28 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    need to find out hw to just put nes emulator and roms on dvd not for ps2 or xbox systems
     
  6. theend757

    theend757 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    just use nero express burn them as data or you can use nero burning rom they do the same but nero express are easy steps to do.
     
  7. dpop28

    dpop28 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ok thx cause i just want to put them on disc tht way i can delete them off my comp. i would still be able to run them from disc right
     
  8. theend757

    theend757 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes you be able to read or run them from the disc they are mostly data. but make sure when you burn a copy test the disc before moving on to delete the data from your computer.
     
  9. theend757

    theend757 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yes you be able to read or run them from the disc they are mostly data. but make sure when you burn a copy test the disc.
     
  10. dpop28

    dpop28 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    so basically im burning the folder that says nes rom, snes etc... the file in the unzipped file?
     
  11. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    I cant find IMBNES roms anywhere.

    Can someone PM me? I got the emulator and now its pointless without the roms.

    BTW, nice write up!

    Thanks!
     
  12. vcbc

    vcbc Regular member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    You download .nes files. There called NES(Nintendo) rom, IMBNES is just the emulator name. Google search nes roms for roms.
     
  13. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    Umm, I know that. What I am saying is that I cant find any roms. When I do it tells me they can no longer be downloaded like from rom hustler for instance.
     
  14. comminup

    comminup Regular member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i there any way to run a emulator (snes station) from the hdd via hd loader?
     
  15. Delmorte

    Delmorte Guest

    Yes
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 7, 2008
  16. ilcmdme

    ilcmdme Regular member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    I have a cd full of snes roms that i used with my snes emulator on my pc. The question is can I use these roms on my ps2 with a ps2 snes emulator?

    Yes.
    (feels weird answering my own question)

    I followed your tutorial, downloaded the roms(they came in rar) to a folder i named "roms rar" did everything else and it went fine, played well. Great job!!! and THAKS.

    I tried with some roms I had (rar the smc file for each game myself), placed them in a folder named "roms" made the compilation with nero 5.5 (following the same tut) but it couldn't burn them to the disc so i made an image then used nero express to burn the image to disc. Everything else ran fine except when i select the roms folder i saw another folder with an underscroll beside it - no roms!
    Can u point out what i did wrong?
    THX..

    Never mind guys, I got it to work, this is how:
    I changed all file endings eg: killer instinct.SMC TO Killer Instinct.smc (not sure if this made a difference).
    Roms i downloaded came rared with a html internet file and the .smc, guess what i did.
    I rared the .smc file, select zip option and added the html internet file which resulted in a winrar zip archive and not just a winrar archive. Yes, I did each rom like this and yes, it took a while.
    Arranged them by name when done
    Opened my nero 5.5 and inserted in this order:
    *Roms rar* (I named it that way).
    *install* (file from snes station).
    *system* (file from snes station).
    *snes_emu.elf* (file from snes station).
    By the way i copied these from my already working rom disc.
    I made an image coz Nero would not recognize my cd-rewriter, something about wasn't bundled with drive.
    Anyway, that done I used nero 6 express at 4x to burn my disc and it is now working. Thank you guys.
    (answered my own question again). Weird.
     
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2008
  17. eddieed

    eddieed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    hey guys i used the tutorial for the ps2 n64 emulater and it says not a valid ps2 disc, i followed it step by step and its not working ?? can you explain it more?
     

Share This Page