1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hacking a Khypermedia KDVRW8X DVD+RW to Dual Layer

Discussion in 'DVD / Blu-ray drives' started by yugioh2me, Oct 22, 2004.

  1. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
  2. khyperdan

    khyperdan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    what lead you to believe that this drive IS hackable ?
     
  3. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Not to rain on your parade but would you really want to trust $10 apiece media in a hacked up drive?
     
  4. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    It was just a thought that i could hack the drive to DL but if i cant then its fine.

    The media isnt an issue, i have a 5 pack of DL media just sitting there since my firend gave it to me a while ago.

    Thx!
     
  5. dontbugme

    dontbugme Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Actually, since the KHyperpro drive appears to be a re-badged Cyberdrive DX082D (which *is* a dual-layer drive), I'd bet it's a simple mod. (No idea what it may be, though.)

    DBM
     
  6. OldAsus

    OldAsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Not that it would do a whole lot of good, but I've just purchased this KHypermedia drive, and would be interested, as well.

    Andy
     
  7. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    i think it will depend on the circuite board & not just software
     
  8. OldAsus

    OldAsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I'd agree with that, but according to a review on BigBruin.com, the board is even stamped DX082D.

    [​IMG]

    It wouldn't surprise me if you just had to cut a trace on the board to "unlock" the dual-layer capability. Could also be a firmware issue, I'd guess. Unfortunately, I don't know enough about these things to even guess at where to start. Maybe try updating the Khypermedia drive with a flash for the Cyberdrive(?), but yikes! You could end up with a paperweight!
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    does somebody have a picture of the circuit board full shot close of the cyberdrive dx082d & the same for khypermedia kdvrw8x for a comparison to see if any components missing/added
     
  10. OldAsus

    OldAsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
  11. OldAsus

    OldAsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    The BigBruin pic is a bit small (the other is perfect for this purpose), but comparing the two boards, one will immediately notice that the Cyberdrive board is Rev A, and the KHypermedia shows Rev B. I noticed that there are a few subtle differences between the two, but it appears that everything is very similar. But, since all it takes is one different resistor value, or a jumper on one where missing on the other, I'm afraid it's going to be difficult to form a conclusion based on the information in these pics (unless somebody else's eyes are better than mine.) ;-).
    (Sorry.)

     
  12. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    these are 2 different rev levels a & b. try get rev b version for cyberdrive
     
  13. OldAsus

    OldAsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Yep. Noted.

    Quote: "...comparing the two boards, one will immediately notice that the Cyberdrive board is Rev A, and the KHypermedia shows Rev B."

    Unfortunately, I could find no other pics of these units.

     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2004
  14. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    besides the 2 revs difference, rev b has 2 component placements but not installed to the right of the rev b & rev a only has 1 & that is just the begining, saw other differences to left of rev label. what rev is yours
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2004
  15. OldAsus

    OldAsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    No idea. Just bought it last night, and it's not even out of the box. I found this inquiry when I was looking for info on the drive. Thought it might be interesting if it could be made to do dual-layer, but I'm not breaking it open right away.
     
  16. rnbcpe

    rnbcpe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    In reference to "dontbugme (Newbie) 25. October 2004 @ 14:51" statement that the Cyberdrive DX082D (which *is* a dual-layer drive) how do you get Dual-layer from this drive. Also I recently updated the bios to 150b trying to get the drive to burn -R dvd's but am burning coasters. Any suggestions.
    Thanks
     
  17. OldAsus

    OldAsus Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Take a look at the review, rnbcpe:
    (Hit <enter too fast!)

    The table on page one says:

    Supported Disc Formats

    DVD: DVD-Video(8cm/12cm, Single and Dual Layer), DVD+ROM (8cm/12cm, Single and Dual Layer), Multi-Boader, Multi-Session
    CD: CD-DA, CD-ROM, CD-ROM/XA, mixed mode, Video-CD, Photo CD, Enhanced CD, CD Plus, CD-Text

    Now maybe that's just in read(?). Hard to say, but it seems strange that they'd mention this if it couldn't write in D/L, as well.

    Just my somewhat but lacking edjumacated guess.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2004
  18. forkndave

    forkndave Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    10
    I believe those are the supported read formats. If you'll look at the write speeds listed there is no DL shown.
     
  19. yugioh2me

    yugioh2me Regular member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    So any theories on how to make the khypermedia drive dual layered?
     
  20. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,008
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    128
    it is not just software but also hardware issues have to be considered such as the circuit board & the laser lens(es)??. without 2 identical boards of the same rev level, your guess is as good as mine
     

Share This Page