1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Half Life 2

Discussion in 'CD-R' started by Persy, Nov 26, 2004.

  1. Persy

    Persy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i just bought half life 2 and i wanna make a backup for safe keeping....does anyone know how to??? what copy protection does it have?
     
  2. Nephilim

    Nephilim Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Messages:
    14,942
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Wrong forum. Thread moved.
     
  3. Persy

    Persy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    so yeah i used ray scanner and it told me it has SecuROM 5.03.06.0002
    ...anyone know how to burn that???
     
  4. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    that's odd. I just ran my HL2 disc with ARay v2.0.1.1 .... and it didn't detect anything.

    Which disc did you scan? I do believe it uses SecureROM, but just wondering how your ARay was able to detect it.
     
  5. Persy

    Persy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2004
  6. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hmmm ... I've got the 5 disc cd. I wonder if that is why. When I scan the play disc(1). It just detects securerom.
     
  7. Persy

    Persy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    yeah that's what happened to me at first but then i installed the game and did a directoy scan to get the precise version of securom.....try that and see if it makes a difference....maybe it was just a fluke for me
     
  8. Persy

    Persy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    i found this in another forum with someone helping another to back up his "cd" half life 2...does this make sense to u?

    "If your using Alcohol 120% Securom v5 is blacklisted through Virtual Drives, and I'm guessing it would be the same with other apps. Simply create your image, but burn it to disc and play from the disc with all securom emulations enabled. "

    then someone tried it and they said it worked...i dunno i haven;t tried it though

    "Thanks, I forgot to turn on the emulation in the burning process of the back-up CD. I used Securom 5 with emulation and now I have a perfect working backup copy. Thanks again."
     
  9. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Yea ... scanning the directory worked.
     
  10. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    hmm, I don't know. I tried before and couldn't get it to work.

    Will try again this weekend. But I would really like to make a backup that works without emulation.
     
  11. Persy

    Persy Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    if u figure out a way without emulation PM me...an if i figure out a way i will PM u
     
  12. flip218

    flip218 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116

Share This Page