1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

HALO for PC [bold] Fatal Error [bold]

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Mik3h, Nov 4, 2004.

  1. Mik3h

    Mik3h Regular member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2004
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Hey all,

    I [bold] REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY REALLY [bold] need help with this..

    When running HALO, an error message comes up saying "We are sorry but your computer;s video hardware is below the recommended minimum spec for this game. If you wish to upgrade your computer, please contact your computer manufacturer for any neccesary assistance.

    Then you have three choices.
    [bold] Continue Anyway [bold]
    [bold] Continue in 'Safe Mode'[bold]
    [bold] Exit [bold]

    If you choose either Continue anyway OR Continue in Safe Mode, you are then, in a few seconds confronted with the HALO logo, then an error message pops up saying.

    "Your Computer's video driver is known to have serious issues with the game.
    A newer version that s compatible may be available. If you wish to update your drivers, please contact your computer manufacturer for any necessary assistance."

    It then says "Machine Info: 1400MHz, 256MB, 32M ATI RAGE 128 Pro (0x5446)"

    Then it gives me no choice but to exit
    I would appreciate ANY kind of help.
    Thanks.

    ps. I am sure that my graphics card and video card is of high quality..

     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    what does halo want for video card specs, check with halo site for any patches for problem of card, also check with ATI for updated driver if you don't already. also see what version of directx you are running latest from microsoft is 9.0c
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2004
  3. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    What part of the original error message did you not understand?

    If at all possible, get a new video card that will at least meet the minimum specs of the game. The one that you are running now is ancient.
    _X_X_X_X_X_[small]Bruce Wallace
    Vietnam Vet - 1970 - 1971

    3.06 Ghz Intel P4 CPU
    Asus P4C800-E Deluxe Motherboard
    1Gig Corsair 3200 LLPro DDR Ram
    Plextor PX 708A DVD Burner
    Sony CRX320E DVD 16x + CD-RW 52x24x52 Combo
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro Video Card
    Audigy2 Platinum[/small]
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2004
  4. ianski7

    ianski7 Guest

    Hey!

    32MB is a feeble video card. If you want to play everything BUT the most modern games 128MB should do.
    If you want to play modern games go for the 256MB and make sure you bring a paycheck, maybe more!

    Here is a link to give you ideas........

    http://geek.pricegrabber.com/search_attrib.php/page_id=5/

    Updating your drivers may give you some relief.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 4, 2004
  5. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    the video card meets the 32meg requirements of game but don't know about T&L requirements(Transform & Light). checking for latest update for card. here is microsoft link about specs http://support.microsoft.com/kb/829478#6
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2004
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    latest driver versions for ati is v4.13 for win9x & v6.13 for xp
     
  7. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    They are right. Even if you could run Halo -- you wouldnt want to.

    A 32MB GeForce2MX can play Halo. Its not the memory count, its the core :)

    For the record, that vid card is "just too old" to be able to play. I doubt it has support DirectX7 which is the foundation on which the other DXs are built on. Halo might even require hardware support for DX8 but i dont think it does.
     
  8. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,071
    Likes Received:
    79
    Trophy Points:
    128
    checked ati site, video card will support dx 8 or 8.1 depending on os but you must have at least dx 9.0b to run game
     
  9. Praetor

    Praetor Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    6,927
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    118
    Whoa. Either it supports the shaders or it doesnt. OS means jack shit all with hardware support :) (and was it "support" or "compatible")
     

Share This Page