1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard Disk Cleanup after a Burn using Shrink + Decrypter

Discussion in 'DVD±R for advanced users' started by star11078, Dec 26, 2004.

1. star11078

star11078 Member

I'm a newbie... What a great site.. I've used DVDShrink and DECRYTPER successfully to burn one
    < 4.7 GB disk and one > 4.7 GB disk. I have a small hard drive with only 12 GB of free space. After the > 4.7 GB burn, the cleanup was easy. With the > 4.7 GB burn, I'm having trouble recovering the space used. I used Shrink to compress and DECRYPTER to burn. I found the *.ISO file and deleted it, but there is still about 5+ GB out there I cannot find. I have examined the drive in great detail (searches by creation date and size) and still can't find the missing space. Running XP SP2. It appears th at the pagefile.sys is fragmented and greater in size then 1.5GB (1.5 times the size of my RAM). Working my way (slowly) through the GUIDES and the NEWBIE fourum with no luck so far. Any help is appreciated

2. Discmania

Discmania Active member

3. star11078

star11078 Member

Many thanks.. I'll give it a go after my wife goes to bed.. She's had enough of me being in front of the computer today...

4. wild77

wild77 Guest

You did check the Recycle Bin.When using Decrypter and Shrink it is a good idea to create new folders,then set them as the destinations for your work.They will be much easier to find when you are done.

5. rroettger

rroettger Regular member

The link from Discmania is for Dustbuster. The site for the download is missed up somehow. Here is the same program from the authors page.
    http://www.casperize.com/dustbuster/dust_en.htm

Personally I would not use the program. It will delete files without you having a chance to review them.
    I just use Windows cleanup utility. If your system is working well, on the More Options tab you can delete all Restore points but the last one.