1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hard drive not recognizing my CD ROM

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by navygrl67, May 6, 2007.

  1. navygrl67

    navygrl67 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I got this Tower used, it was given to me and I was told all I had to do was download the OS, I got the tower hooked up and turned on and it shows that windows 98 is on there in DOS but at the end of the screen in C:> or something like that, I put the windows disk in and type dir d: and it says something along the line of wrong file or something like that..Can some one please help me, im in college and my term paper is due and I cant afford a new tower...thank you..deb
     
  2. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    moved to correct forum.
    do you know how to get into the bios? what is the make & model# of the computer? is that windows disk an original or a copy? do you know anybody that is using win98 (besides me) or windows me?
     
  3. navygrl67

    navygrl67 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    if you could walk me through it i will find out all that info. the disk is a copy.
     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    answer this "what is the make & model# of the computer" & this "do you know anybody that is using win98 (besides me) or windows me".
     
  5. navygrl67

    navygrl67 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    where would that info be at...i know how to work the pcs i just dont know how to fix them..im sorry i sound so stupid, but if you could help me ill add you to my christmas list...lol
     
  6. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    is it a name brand like a dell or hp or is it a clone with no name on it?
     
  7. Molder

    Molder Regular member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    navygirl67,
    What version is the windows disk?

    Try opening the CD drawer and outting the disc in there, then turn the machine off. Now turnit on again and cross your fingers, it should boot from the disk and start the install process. If not turn off again and turn on tap the del (delete) key and it should take you to the bios. In the bios you are looking for "boot order" "boot preferences" somthing like that, select the CD rom as first and HDD as second and floppy (if you have one) as third. F10 to save and exit. Try reboot and should load from CD.

    M
     
  8. navygrl67

    navygrl67 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    the name on the front of the tower is Micron
     
  9. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    sounds like a no name computer. try what molder posted. just did a search & micron comes up as mpc. http://www.mpccorp.com/
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2007
  10. navygrl67

    navygrl67 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok i will try everything...thank you so much for helping, if it doesnt work i will let ya'll know...Deb
     
  11. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
  12. navygrl67

    navygrl67 Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    ok..i have tried everything everyone has told me and this is what is showing on my screen.

    PhoenixBIOS Version 4.05 W6LI S/NH-02
    Copryright dates

    Micron Electronics Inc.

    CPU=PENTIUM PRO 200MHz
    0000640K SYSTEM RAM PASSED
    0031744K EXTENEDED RAM PASSED
    EDO MEMORY DETECTED
    0256K CACHE SRAM PASSED
    SYSTEM BIOS SHADOWED
    VIDEO BIOS SHADOWED
    FIXED DISK 0: MODE 4 WDC AC21600H

    MICROSOFT (R) WINDOWS 98
    (C) COPYRIGHT MICROSOFT CORP 1981-1999

    C:\>

    THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT IT SAYS AND HOW IT IS LAYED OUT ON THE SCREEN CAN SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME FIGURE OUT ALL THIS AND TRY AND TELL ME WHY IT SEEMS LIKE MY HARD DRIVE IS RECOGNIZING MY CD ROM..THANKS IN ADVANCE..DEB
     
  13. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,091
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    your hard drive has been formated by win98 & made bootable but other then that is just an empty drive with no windows on it. the hard drive itself is a western digital & maybe 1.6gig. you have 32meg of ram & the cpu is a pentium pro 200mhz or a p1 level. can you get a copy of a win98 or winme boot floppy disk if you don't have 1? have you tried that link i posted to for a bootdisk? i'm using win98se on this computer i'm posting on eventho is a p4 celeron 2.53ghz.
     

Share This Page