1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard drive problem

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by Chad47, Dec 5, 2007.

  1. Chad47

    Chad47 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Someone who didnt know much about computers setup my mine. I have a 160GB drive in my system but the drive wasnt partitioned and windows reads it as a 30GB drive. I personally dont know much about seting up a HD, but any help in geting my sweet sweet disk space back would be great.
    Heres my system:
    Windows XP ver2002 service pack 2
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.20GHz
    1GB of RAM
    Maxtor 6Y160P0 hard drive
    GeForce 6800 Ultra video card
     
  2. Waymon3X6

    Waymon3X6 Regular member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Reformat your HDD by reloading windows on there, then you should get the space you need.

    Are you sure windows just reads the space that's available?, and not as the total amount of space originally?
     
  3. Zer0ink

    Zer0ink Regular member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    use the installation disk (maxblast4) that came with the harddrive,,, when the puter boots it'll read the cd rom first or you'll have to set the boot sequence to boot from cd

    then go to set up disk after it had loaded and delete all partitions

    then choose to make the whole 160 one partition

    you'll have to learn the software

    XP os disk might do it but again youll have to keep deleted partitions at the appropreate step

    once or twice when i tried xp install disk it didnt do it

    use the force luke.. maxblast4 rocks

     
  4. ddp

    ddp Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39,092
    Likes Received:
    84
    Trophy Points:
    128
    chad, all hd's have to be partitioned & formated before any software including your operating system is loaded on it. what does the bios show for size of hd?
     

Share This Page