1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard drive

Discussion in 'PC hardware help' started by kquick, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. kquick

    kquick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    My PC will not detect my 500GB SATAII 7200RPM, ROHS, PWSX70/380/X90 unless I have it plugged into port 3 on the mother board then windowsxp will not detect. Help?
     
  2. mikeh0303

    mikeh0303 Regular member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    check your setting in the BIOS
     
  3. kquick

    kquick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have... the RAID is on auto and there is no way to turn it off totally and everything else seems to be where it should be.. It only picks the hard drive up in port 3 not port 0 where it should be so windows would detect it. Is there any way to have windows detect it in port 3?
     
  4. GrandpaBW

    GrandpaBW Active member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    3,737
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Huh? Why would raid be set to automatic, when you only have one hard drive?

    If Windows can't pick it up in the first port, something isn't right.
     
  5. kquick

    kquick Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    I have no idea. I am lost. Everything I know to do I have done. The Raid is set to auto detect and the only other option is combination and when I set it to that the ports do not work. I appreciate all your help.
     

Share This Page